We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB & FRIENDLY”
Review of The Wee Puffin

The Wee Puffin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 23
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: During the spring months we offer an all day menu offering up to three course meals, with many choices and a wide range of burgers. As a fully licensed premises we offer various lagers, ales, wines and spirits and incorporate many local beers including:- Cairngorm, Windswept, Speyside Craft, Black Isle, Keith, Spey Valley, Skye, Woo, Orkney, Lerwick, Black Wolf, Thistly Cross Scottish Ciders, Swannay, Rothes and Brew Dog We also offer alcohol-free beers too! We also offer an ever increasing list of Single Malt Whiskies (over 100) at great prices! The Whisky shop is now operational on site. With a full bar license you can just pop in for a drink if you want...or take them away to drink at home!! With over 200 different drinks there will be something to suit all tastes!!
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Spending a few nights at a local hotel, we decided to try "THE WEE PUFFIN" Well what can one say? It was excellent, large portions of all dishes, very reasonable prices for meals and drinks. A very knowledgeable owner who was very friendly and ensured all ran smooth for all his customers. There were other customers when we were there on two evenings and all were attended to without delay with upmost respect. I cannot fault this establishment and I wish the owner a continued success. We will surely visit again on our next visit to the town. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Had a lovely meal plenty of choice and its open till 9 pm if you like whisky this is the place to Buy as he has lots of choices and the food is very good

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank hazzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Their meat isn't approved for medium cooked burgers so it's only well done i'm afraid. It's a cosy little place. Quiet, with friendly staff and cheap food. Some of the fried food was quite oily. The desserts were the best part of the experience but even then, the Apple Crumble was on the cold side.. Nothing stands out amazingly and I feel they could really source local fresh food and simplify the menu a bit to focus on something unique. There is very little around the area so the Wee Puffin really is what Grantown has to offer. The receipt was strange as it just says food and doesn't give anything itemised by name. Nevertheless, great staff, cheap eats and it's open past 5pm! :)

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mashmellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pugsy13, Owner at The Wee Puffin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for your review.
With respect to the 'cooking burger' issue we are informed by Environmental health to ensure all burgers are FULLY cooked all the way through. please refer to food.gov.uk/safety-hygiene/burgers for further information. I did mention this at the time, any food establishment not doing this risks food poisoning.
Our 100% Scottish beef is not substandard as you infer.
If the main courses were so bad why then order desserts???
I would love to know how you 'know' our food isn't fresh and local, you make many ill educated assumptions of my establishment. Such a shame you could not voice your concerns at the time, as per trip advisor guidelines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Not fancy, just good burgers and a very warm and friendly host. More deep fried starters for us, but that is cause everyone likes a haggis fritter! Again, lots of lovely local beer and good grub. Very family friendly.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 8dh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We tried our first haggis here and we were not disappointed! Nice relaxed atmosphere and lovely food, host was very nice!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Hlm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wee Puffin also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Wee Puffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing