We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house, great hosts, wonderful food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosehall Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosehall Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house, great hosts, wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Martin and Pearl created a wonderful experience for my spouse and another couple from our arrival - Martin welcomed us warmly and showed us both rooms, giving us a thorough orientation to the property and the process for ordering breakfast. The rooms were exceptionally large, clean, and comfortable. Although I was a bit concerned at first because it seemed that noise travelled somewhat through the house (it is an older home and this is in my experience somewhat typical), I was very pleased to discover that the house was very quiet at night, which made for a very good night's sleep for this light sleeper! We were in the upstairs front room, which faces the street, and is quite large. The bathroom was comfortable as well - a tub with shower, lots of room and extremely clean. Breakfast was a standout - scrambled eggs with local smoked salmon, the full Scottish, and porridge were all very generously portioned, well-cooked and delicious. Martin offered us some ideas about what to do on our days of adventuring in Speyside, and was happy to share his experiences and recommendations as well. All in all, a wonderful stay, extremely reasonably priced for the location, service, rooms, and food, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarheel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
61
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

On a touring holiday and ended up in Grantown looking for a place to stay. We had a choice of three rooms (and prices) and settled for the mid priced room, although the smallest would have been ok for an overnight stay, the larger room was only £5pp dearer, and really did give us much more space. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though the bed was a bit soft for me. the bathroom was small, but the shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water.
Good breakfast, well cooked and tasty. Owners were friendly and accommodating.
a lttle bit more expensive than other B&B's of equal quality that we stayed on on this trip but overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

My cousin and I recently stayed with Martin and Pearl at Rosehall. We were delighted with the friendly reception we received and enjoyed the convenience of being situated in the main square. The bedrooms and public rooms were spacious and comfortable and were just what we wanted after travelling all day. Breakfast the following morning was the 'best ever' and we found our hosts most friendly and helpful with suggestions for our onward port of call. Having travelled extensively in Scotland over the years, I would have no hesitation in recommending Rosehall to friends and family as an ideal base from which to tour the Highlands.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The guesthouse was wonderful and Martin and Pearl were perfect hosts. We could not believe how bit and luxurious the bedrooms were for the price and I definitely recommend it to a friend. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a guesthouse or hotel, especially the scrambled eggs and local smoked salmon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebradshaw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

We have just spent five wonderful nights at this beautiful old house, Lynda & Robert were the perfect hosts ! Accommodation and breakfast were exceptional. We will be back !!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness - everywhere was spotless !!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer Margar... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
5.1 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.3 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 km away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
7.9 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehall Guest House

Property: Rosehall Guest House
Address: 13 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price range (per night): $125 - $161
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosehall Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built before the turn of the century, Rosehall is one of Grantown on Spey's finest buildings, a handsome house with unique gothic architecture. Centrally located in the town's historic Georgian square the guest house is close to all amenities. Recently refurbished to the highest of standards, and offering the discerning visitor the best of highland hospitality, we offer hotel quality at a guest house price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rosehall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosehall Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing