We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Richard's Birthday Weekend”
The Pines House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pines House
Drawing Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Pines House
Drawing Room
Sitting Room
Family Room off Kitchen
Family Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Room 5
Room 5
Room 6
Room 3
Room 4
Room 1
Room 1 Ensuite
Room 7
Room 7 window
Room 8
Room 10 Ensuite
Room 9
Family Bathroom
Room 2
Garden
Play room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Orkho
Hopeman, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Richard's Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a fantastic venue for our party of sixteen, gathered together for a special birthday celebration.

The Pines is situated on the outskirts of Grantown with lovely woodland walks extending from the grounds of the Villa but also within five minutes walking distance from the town centre.

There are ten large rooms, mostly with en suite facilities, a huge well equipped kitchen, three living rooms with coal fires (coal and kindling supplied), a large dining room and a children's play room (loads of toys and games there). We had a very frosty weekend, weather wise, but the central heating system ensured the house was always cosy.

There could not be a better place for a small gathering of family or friends, than the 'Pines'.

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kedvesAS
Selters (Westerwald), Germany
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation. Best ever.”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spend two weeks as a large group at the pines house in August. The house and the garden are fabulous. It has everything and more you could wish for. The photos on the website are great but reality is even better.
Lucy and Jay are wonderful hosts. Here just two examples: We had mentioned that some in our group like to play table tennis. When we arrived there was a professional table tennis table in the beautiful garden. When we mentioned that we had a piano player amongst us and it would be nice to have some live music, Lucy and Jay lend us a piano for the time of our stay.
They are fantastic hosts and have hospitality down to a tee.
Each and everybody in our group said it was a fantastic holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic interior and the garden.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DereknRut...
Aberchirder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Actually deserves a higher rating than excellent”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Pines House as a birthday celebration, with ages from 6 to in their 70's, and it had everything that every age group could have wanted or needed. Jay and Lucy were so welcoming and the house itself, well, I have never rented such a well managed and stocked house. We did a lot of cooking for a party of 19 whilst there and it had everything we needed when it came to crockery, towels, condiments etc. They have thought on everything, and even with 19 of us there of different ages, the house is so much more spacious than the pictures make you believe. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks again for our brilliant week Jay and Lucy :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We visited the Pines last year, for a family get together. It went that well, that we decided to have another weekend this year, after looking at different places, for a change, there was nothing we could find to beat the Pines, in terms of quality of accommodation. There was a new full sized table tennis table in the garden,a new climbing frame being erected which just added to the existing wide variety of games and toys. As per last year we found the rooms extremely comfortable, with high quality bedding towels and toiletries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne P
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Pines weekend”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a great place! This house is like a tardis, so much bigger than it looked in the photos. We were a large group of friends staying for a weekend, we all loved it and will be back. Great facilities, the kitchen had everything you could want, coffee, oil, tea towels, tin foil etc. The best stocked kitchen I have stayed in. All the bathrooms had lovely hand soap, even bubble bath and shower gel. We had no faults or complaints with accommodation. Would highly recommend a stay here for all ages as hosts have thought of everything to make the stay so easy and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Soap in bathroom
Liked least: Some windows wouldn't open.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing