We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holmhill House August 2012”
other travellers have booked this property
Holmhill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmhill House
Drawing room Drawing room photo 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Holmhill House
Drawing room
Drawing room photo 2
Dining room
Dining room photo 2
Snug
Snug photo 2
Games room
Games room photo 2
Kitchen
Kitchen photo 2
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen dining area photo 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom photo 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 8
Garden from master bedroom balcony
Garden
View from the balcony in Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aileen M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holmhill House August 2012”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We went here to celebrate our silver wedding with our family which included people who had travelled from the south of England and Australia. It was a huge success. The accommodation was ideal and the house is extremely well equipped. The bedrooms were lovely and the views from the master bedroom balcony are fab. The kitchen was great for cooking and gatherings and we were also lucky enough to have Judy come in and cater for us on two occasions which was quite outstanding. We were a large party, but the house is very spacious it never felt crowded. There is a lovely large livingroom for when everyone gets together and the dining room too is spacious enough for a large party and it has great views. It is a great place to stay.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are also delighted that you are returning to Holmhill next year. Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmymac2...
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“May bank holiday rental 2012”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable and well equipped accommodation in a great location. Would definitely recommend Holmhill House.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mon65
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holmhill house May Bank Holiday 2012”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the house for our annual trip away, 13 adults and 2 children in all. The house fitted our criteria perfectly with a big kitchen, big dining room and sitting room for the adults and a seperate TV room and a games room for the kids. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook a meal for all on the first night and the dining room sat us all comfortably. Not all the rooms are ensuite but if you are family or long standing friends this is not a challange and the attic space is perfect with two rooms sharing a lovely bathroom. It was really nice to come in from a walk, light the coal fire and relax in the sitting room before heading out. Good area as well with a few really good restaurants and some nice walks for all levels of fitness. Would recomend this highly.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2012
Thank you very much for our first review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Holmhill and that the house suited your needs. We'd love to welcome you all back in the future.
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doome
Sevenoaks
1 review
“Informative, welcoming and relaxed hosts, lovely house & spacious room, good breakfast, central location to tour area!”
Reviewed 18 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Mel and Mike were lovely hosts The house itself had a lovely feel, very homely and beautifully decorated. We had the Honeymoon Suite (!) as we were alone there - we timed it right as it had been full the week before and it was to be shortly after! The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable, quiet location so you will get a good night's sleep.

The choice at breakfast was excellent - Mel even arranged kippers for me as a special request! Nothing was too much bother and both gave us good advice on eateries and places to visit in the area. Excellent location to tour the area - visited the coast, Balmoral, Culloden - so much to see.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette27
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2009 for a stay in April 2009

We stayed here for 3 days & found it a very pleasant, comfortable place to stay. Mel & Mike were great hosts - very welcoming & friendly & their knowledge of the area was wonderful. They went out of their way to give us advice on how to get to places & even looked up opening times for some on the internet. Our room was so big & really nicely decorated - it was lovely to have so much space to spread out. The room was made up daily, bathroom done & tea, coffee & shortbreads replenished. The heating worked well & soap & shampoo was provided. Breakfast was very good with more food offered if you wanted. Would definitely stay here again if we were in the area, it would be like visiting old friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing