We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with very good food”

garth restaurant in the garth hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Stayed 2 nights at The Garth Hotel with my husband. Staff were very warm and friendly, room was lovely and well equipped. Ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed a varied menu with delicious food. Recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a smallish, friendly hotel where they can experience good Scottish cooking.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting this restaurant every year in July for the last 15 years. It has become something of a tradition and we have never been disappointed until this year. The adults meals were satisfactory except for the desserts which were extremely poor and very over priced. We had the meringue nest with ice cream, lemon curd and berries. The meringue was definitely shop bought, the ice cream was average and the berries consisted of one strawberry cut up into pieces, one raspberry and a cherry. Certainly not good value for the price paid. We had four children with us who chose from the children’s menu. Two of the children had pizza which we recognised as 50p frozen pizzas from a well known supermarket. Another of the children had macaroni cheese but this was definitely tinned macaroni cheese and not Home made! Very disappointing! The other child had chicken gout ons which was the best option for quality. One child had chose strawberries with chocolate sauce but came with no chocolate sauce!!! Very overpriced at £7.50 for two courses. This tradition of 15years has definitely come to an end as next year we’ll be going elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank catherineflynn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We decided to stop for lunch on Sunday and asked for a table set up outside to be told that there was not enough staff to serve us ?????so we bought a sandwich in the local supermarket and ate it on a park bench.Another customer even offered to carry his sandwich out but was told NO and was allowed only to buy a packet of crisps. Well Garth...not returning.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We had the sixteen people of the tour plus the driver. Decision to go there was from the whole group not the drivers. We enjoyed all dishes.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were greeted by a very friendly hostess who accommodated us on a busy evening. Grilled salmon was outstanding and we enjoyed the chicken liver pate as well. Nice selection of wines by the glass. The young lady serving us was sweet and very attentive as was all the staff. I would return in a heart beat!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed garth restaurant in the garth hotel also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to garth restaurant in the garth hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing