We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another visit here - it can't be bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Dorset
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Yet another visit here - it can't be bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We have stayed here regularly for 9 years. Our latest visit was last week for 6 nights. i have not reviewed it for some years so its timwe for an update.

The hotel is close to the centre of town and in an old building. It is still comfortable with good service. The bar and restaurant are pleasant areas. The breakfast is very good and the restaurant sets a high standard although pricey and we choose to use the many other places locally for evening meals.

The rooms are clean and have all the facilities you would expect. They seem to have been updated recently.

Obviously, after all our repeated visits there isn’t much wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    123
    57
    31
    20
See reviews for
54
125
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Brilliant location less then five minutes walk to shops and bars, train station accross the road. However if it had been full price then really would have been disappointed. However I paid £50 on laterooms and this was an exceptable price however for this it would have been nice to have breakfast included.

Rooms were basic but clean, the shower however is amazing it is a new power shower. It also has free parking accross the road which is an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDavies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I booked this hotel for my husband and my 24th wedding anniversary and because we were visiting the nearby Victoria theatre. The hotel itself is in a good location opposite the train station and within walking distance of many halifax attractions. The hotel is an old small building but the reception and bar area are of good standard. Our room was small but clean, a little dated but adequate for the one night we were staying. We did not eat our evening meal there but the menu seemed good and reasonably priced and on reflection we would probaby have been better eating there as Halifax does seem rather short on restraunts. The bar is comfartable, the staff friendly and again reasonably priced. Now the bad points, the hotel was unbearably hot and has no air conditioning and it was the hottest night of the year so we had no option other than to open our windows. Unfortunatley for us this was where our problem began. The hotel had a wedding party booked and all the other guests except for us were attending. The room we were given looked out onto the court yard where the noise, swearing shoutiing and bad language continued until 130am, which as you can imagine was very distressing for us. We would have complained but as we were the only other guests that were staying we did not want to feel uncomfortable at breakfast and the wedding party were fully entitled to celebrate their day without us complaining and spoiling things for them. Our problem was we should never have been given the room over the reception. All this said the breakfast was excellent and after contacting the hotel manager about our problem on our return home we were given a full refund. If you are visiting Halifax I would recommend this hotel because of the efficent way that their manager and the agents Superbreak handled our complaint. I would use this hotel again if I visit Victoria Theatre again and I am sure the hotel has learnt by its mistakes and will not book other guests into these rooms again when there is a large function.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Booked for two nights before travelling on by coach to Scotland with friends from the area.Then four nights upon our return before return home to the south.Our room going was cramped(to say the least)-couldn't swing a mouse,let alone a cat.As for the shower room you need to be Houdini to get in and we aren't at all big people...............Asked for a better room,rather than the broom cupboard upon our return-well,the room was bigger than the first but given twin beds(one only had three legs).Wardrobe hinges missing so work of art trying to use doors!
The hotel is looking very tired and is in serious need of an "overhaul".The communal areas are very shabby with torn carpets in stairways,gaffer tap on the carpet in the dining areas.
However on the plus side,the staff were lovely and helpful-nothing too much bother -shame about the obvious lack of interest in upgrading what could be a nice hotel.
Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Good location, by the station. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed half board. Food very good, cannot fault it or the service. Full english Breakfast, excellent.
Would highly recommend, feel that the negative comments are unjustified.
My husband and I are regular travelers’ both abroad and in the UK. We have stayed in 5* down to 3* and would rate this as a good 3* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazianShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.4 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.3 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Property: The Imperial Crown Hotel
Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price range (per night): $67 - $110
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing