We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Many hours can be lost enjoying the view of the Loch from the garden. The view of Loch Leven from the Lodge  is simply stunning!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Many hours can be lost enjoying the view of the Loch from the garden.
The view of Loch Leven from the Lodge  is simply stunning!
The pretty garden is idyllic all year round and fully enclosed.
The pretty sunroom with it's panoramic and uninterrupted views of Loch Leven.
The kitchen was recently refurbished and has all you need for making great meals away from home.
There is a large dinning table in the kitchen which seats 6 comfortably
There are lots of mod cons in the kitchen including a Nespresso machine and milk frother.
The lovely cosy sitting room is a perfect place to relax in after days out.
There is a piano and a guitar for guests to use and enjoy! As well as a flat screen TV & DVD.
Prices include a welcome basket, cupboard basics, fire wood, all linens, electricity and heating
The lovely open fire is a great feature and a central focus of the sitting room.
The master bedroom looks out on to the pretty enclosed garden.
The master bedroom can be set up as a twin if required.
Our twin room with pretty tartan. Can be a double & also take an additional bed if requested.
The cosy single, a sweet little hideaway!
The garden is a lovely pretty space that is enclosed so safe for pets and children
Our keep snug blankets are lovely for wrapping up in when outside star gazing or enjoying the view!
The seating area in the garden is great for Loch views by day and the stars at night!
The pretty garden path leads round the Lodge from the front door to the drive.
In the Autumn, looking from the garden over the fields to Loch Leven's Castle Island.
The fields around the Lodge catch the light in beautiful ways, thoughout the year.
A beautiful winter's day with snow pilled high on the garden hedge!
If you are lucky enough to get snow, get cosy inside & enjoy the magical views out.
One of the many spectacular sunsets you might see at the Lodge.
The sunsets are wonderful! This was taken in February from the garden.
The wild flowers all around are gorgeous, not forgetting the beautiful garden ones  too!
Floor plan
Balgedie Lodge was originally the Gate Lodge to Balgedie House.
Looking up the drive that leads to Balgedie House.
The sunset reflecting on Loch Leven, from the sunroom with a drink in hand!
There are so many great places for dogs to roam!
The beautiful city of Perth is only 25 mins away
Stirling Castle is a wonderful day out for the whole family and is only 30 mins away.
There are lots of fabulous golf courses in the area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kinross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Finnish first
Any
English first
Paul B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb relaxing break”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a fantastic holiday at the Gate Lodge. Booked direct from the owners website hence no Tripadvisor "fees". Can't really add to what others have already said about the place. Very well equipped down to little things such as dishwasher tablets being available. Any queries we had were answered exceedingly promptly by Fiona. There is some traffic noise due to the site being right on the main road but as all the bedrooms are at the rear, noise was not an issue. There are lots of information leaflets in the lodge for ideas of things to do/places to go.The Balgedie Toll Tavern is a short (10 mins or so) walk along a tarmac path and provides good food at a reasonable price. We did however find Loch Levens Larder a little expensive. **Care is needed when leaving the drive as it is on a slight bend and visibility is a little restricted** .We'd certainly not hesitate in booking again should we be looking for a holiday in Perth & Kinross

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,Facilities, Comfort and ease of contacting the owner
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah K
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous at every step of the journey...”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fiona provided a fantastic overview to the area, and was happy to chat back and forth before I had even decided to book. I initially found the Gate lodge on Air BnB but found Fiona's own website much more comprehensive, and also more cost effective!

Fiona's instructions made the cottage easy to find, she had even left the lights on so we could locate it when arriving in the dark. Entering the cottage was warm and cosy, perfect for us as nobody likes to arrive to a cold home! It felt like going to stay at my nanas house, a perfect mix of smart and cosy with lots of personal touches. The dark chocolate ginger biscuits went down a treat whilst sat playing cards on our first night together.

There is a great array of films, books, games for all to enjoy, as well as a piano...I loved being able to play chopsticks...my boyfriend enjoyed the experience a lot less ;-)

The property is well equipped with absolutely everything you might need. Oil salt, ketchup (all the things we forgot on our shopping trip!), coffee and fresh milk. It made staying here so simple.

The pin board in the kitchen, and the binder in the living room are chocked full of ideas for things to do and see whilst staying here. We were never bored, and the views were as promised.

You can tell Fiona truly cares about her cottage, everything is immaculate and we loved our stay. In a nutshell, I almost hoped for rainy weather just to sit indoors by the fire and hide away whilst admiring the beautiful views. We hope to stay again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and cosy feel to the cottage!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grizos
durham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very comfortable and fully equipped”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

perfect for a stay in this area , the gate lodge was a home from home and the view is superb.
Plenty to do in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene L
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a week at the Gate Lodge it was excellent clean well equipped beautiful location fantastic views over the loch, a lot bigger than we expected. We used the sun room a lot beautiful enclosed garden which made it very safe for the dog. There are some great walks around the loch we had a couple of nice meals at The Balgedie Toll Tavern and the Leven Larder. Look forward to returning .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grey236
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best cottage we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly want for a brilliant holiday. It is situated overlooking Loch Leven with a marvellous vista from the garden or the sun room. The beds are comfy, the cottage is spotlessly clean,the bedrooms are quiet at the back of the house even though a main road passes at the front. The garden is safe and secure, young children are safely enclosed.We were joined by our three grandchildren who live fairly near. They loved it plenty of room to play, loads of games books and DVDs. We had heat wave weather so the garden was our favourite place, the sun room was too hot!
The Balgedie Toll Tavern does good food it is within easy walking distance. Loch Levens Larder is a lovely place to eat for all the family.
Fiona allows well behaved dogs and ours loves it here. This was our second visit, sadly for only 4 nights but we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and relaxing environment
Liked least: Proximity of main road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing