We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lin249
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Idyllic location.
Spotless, excellently equipped lodge.
Spacious bedrooms.

I can't praise this lodge highly enough although I do feel if 8 people stayed there they might find it a bit cramped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thank you for your review and kind words. We agree that having 8 people would be cramped and therefore have a maximum of 6 guests allowed at Brekka Lodge. However, we recommend 4 or less to make the most of the spacious room.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S M
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The perfect place if you just want to relax, but also ideal as a base to explore the islands. The lodge is well equipped, warm and comfortable with great views. The sort of place that you want to keep secret so that you can be sure of getting back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Your kind words are really appreciated, thank you. We enjoyed having you to stay and were delighted to be able to show you a wonderful display of the Northern Lights. We hope you can return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My third visit to Brekka Lodge - superb, as ever. Very comfortable, very clean, everything just right for a visit to the incredible Shetland Islands

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brekka Lodge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy W
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home, can't imagine a better place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Brekka Lodge is a extrtemely comfortable, well appointed, and beautifully located home away from home. Everything we needed was provided, including beautiful views of the sea from the house and perfect weather (weather not guaranteed). It's a short walk down to the beach where we saw seals and the lime kiln ruins. The house is just a few minutes from Lerwick in the quiet countryside. We rarely saw a vehicle on the road but frequently saw the sheep and ponies in adjacent fields. We were five adults and found Brekka Lodge an ideal place for our week's vacation. I can't wait to return to Shetland and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the property
Liked least: Wi-fi access was spotty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you all. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay which attending the Wool Week Festival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benchpeg4
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Brekka Lodge is a rare find; a really well equipped, comfortable, clean house in a fabulous location. Ideally placed, 15 minutes from Lerwick and half an hour from Sumburgh, it is also 5 minutes walk from a rocky beach with resident seal.
During our stay in September, the house was always warm. It is exceptionally well equipped throughout; kitchen utensils, laundry, local information, toys and baby equipment. However, it is the little things that make a holiday cottage a real home from home and Sheila and George provide all these:- milk, butter and homemade chocolate cake in the fridge, oatcakes, fresh flowers on the kitchen window sill, foam bath, tissues, coffee, tea, condiments etc.
The bedrooms are large and they need to be to fit in the huge, comfortable beds and ample storage. Our 2 year old grandson loved the big bath and the bath toys.
My abiding memory of Brekka Lodge will be the view from the living room window towards Bressay and Noss, especially as the sun rose. It is a very special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We very much enjoyed having you to stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and the rest of the family. We hope you can return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing