We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with modern amenities”
Review of Kveldsro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kveldsro House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with modern amenities”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for one night where we received a warm welcome. Friendly and professional staff. Lovely rooms. My only niggle would be the lack of a lift when cases have to be man handled up stairs.
Having said that I would certainly return to experience the lovely choice of menu for dinner and breakfast.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebrownjug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    52
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
18
44
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

weekend stay for work. Food excellent, location excellent. staff very attentive and helpful. Well placed in lerwick for visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDaveScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Good location, 2 minutes walk to the centre of Lerwick and the harbour area. New bathrooms,great,just let the water run and run before it gets hot. Food is OK hotel stylie. Good fish and pudds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking thr Sound of Bressay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iTALOPHILEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Styaed here for just one night on a brief visit to the Shetland Islands last month.
There doesn't seem to be a great deal of choice of hotel accomodation in Lerwick and I think most of the hotels that there are are in fact owned by the same company...

But having said that we found this hotel perfectly satisfactory, if not a little pricey (and no discounts are to be found anywhere - too small to appear on any of the booking engines I suspect)
The room was of a good size and special mention should be made of the bathroom which looked as if it had been recently upgraded.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly, and they'd even remembered it was my birthday (which I'd told them when booking) which was a nice touch.

The breakfast wasn't the hotel's strongest strength, but then I don't think Shetland is noted for it's cuisine!

The location is also excellent being only a 5 minute walk from the heart of the town. (Ask reception to point you in the right direction as there is a little shortcut out of the car park)

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Been here a few times for meals, normally we have been very happy however on our last visit was terrible.
fish and chips .............with no veg or salad ????
Sausage and chips for the kiddies....Sausage was obviously left over from breakfast and zapped in the microwave, poor lass couldnt bite through it! !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peerieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.8 km away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
210 reviews
1.6 km away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
155 reviews
7.9 km away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
83 reviews
0.0 km away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
45 reviews
0.4 km away
Eddlewood Guest House
Eddlewood Guest House
#6 of 12 in Lerwick
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kveldsro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kveldsro House

Property: Kveldsro House
Address: 20 Greenfield Place, Lerwick ZE1 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price range (per night): $237 - $356
Hotel Class:3 star — Kveldsro House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country house Hotel in town; centrally situated but in a quiet cul-de-sac; full service hotel with lounge and dining facilities; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kveldsro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kveldsro House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing