We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable!”
Review of The Reel

The Reel
Ranked #8 of 40 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Reel In 2002 the Wrigley Sisters returned to Orkney to live and set up their business, and in 2004 The Reel was established, allowing them to ‘put something back into’ the community of Orkney.’ "With both lasses having now settled back in Orkney their attention has turned to managing the ‘Reel’ – the sisters’ Centre of Music on Broad Street in Kirkwall. The centre has experienced phenomenal success in the few years it has been open, to the extent that it has recently moved to the building formerly occupied by VisitOrkney, next to St Magnus Cathedral. "Aswell as a being home to many folk & blues sessions and the Orkney Strathspey and Reel, The Reel also holds various classes in many different instruments taught by a wealth of talented teachers. The Reel offers and encourages a fully ‘inclusive’ approach, catering for all members of the community, especially families, and all age groups. The existing aesthetics, atmosphere and management approach fully encourages, supports and positively impacts upon this ethos. The management’s existing attitude and approach to providing a high quality and friendly customer service is also considered exemplary.
Reviewed 30 September 2018

I had been in for a coffee during the day and found a happy atmosphere so decided to go back on the next evening for a music session...very glad I did, it was thoroughly enjoyable with a mix of musicians and instruments with people of all ages playing for pleasure..their own and that of their audience! Met some lovely people, enjoyed a few drinks from the bar and had an altogether very pleasant time...and no entry charge! Will definitely be back on my next visit to Orkney.

Thank LesleydeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately, Princess Anne was in town and made it really busy in Kirkwall. However, we had a lovely lunch here and enjoyed free wifi while we ate it. Good grub it was too!

Thank Kendoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We popped in here on a damp Sunday afternoon in September. Sure the coffee and cake were fine - but then they should be! However, the service was, well, pretty average. The young man who served us didn’t seem to be in love with his job, in fact it seemed an effort to serve us. No one else behind the counter seemed too interested in anything that was happening on the other side of the counter either.

The space is cramped, tables are fixed and there was a confusing array of signs, offers and messages everywhere. We were back in Kirkwall the next day and sought somewhere else for our coffee. I didn’t have any interest in going back.

Thank pakabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REEL1000, Manager at The Reel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm very sorry that you felt the service you received was average. I can assure you that customer service is a top priority for us, we aim to be helpful and friendly at all times, and frequently receive reviews and comments that support this. I'm sorry that the service has fallen short on this occasion, we hope you give us another try sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

It was a rainy Sunday so was a welcome break from being outside. Had a good cup ofcoffee and staff we friendly.
Loads of info about music being played their in the week.

Thank beemanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REEL1000, Manager at The Reel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you very much for review. We're glad that you enjoyed your coffee, and hope you managed to hear some music during your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Evenings in The Reel have become a regular feature of our visits to Kirkwall: the fact that this venue is close to our holiday house is a bonus, but it is the music and the atmosphere that is the main attraction - although the beer is good too.
In a week's stay in Kirkwall, I managed to fit in three visits to The Reel. One of these was to the final summer concert of the 2018 season. Most of the events are free, but this concert involved a payment - for local charities. The modest cost was well worth it for a delightful evening of local music and other reminiscences, including old recordings played on a gramaphone.
Not to be missed.

Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REEL1000, Manager at The Reel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you so much for your review. It's great that you managed to experience so much of the local music during your visit, we're proud to be able to promote traditional music as we do, and lucky to have so many talented local musicians, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed it. Hope you make it back for many more visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Reel also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
 
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to The Reel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing