We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little house right in the town centre.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Elska Apartment

Cosy Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Living Room
Bedroom Back Garden / Patio area with BBQ and bench. South facing sun trap!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cosy Living Room
Bedroom
Back Garden / Patio area with BBQ and bench. South facing sun trap!
Front of Building - shows proximity to min street in Kirkwall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carolinec...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little house right in the town centre.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic week in Orkney and were really pleased with the Elska apartment. It's situated in a quiet side road just a few yards from the main shopping street. It was great to have the shops, restaurants and pubs just around the corner. We found it convenient and comfortable, and would recommend it to anyone wanting a base from which to explore these beautiful islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the town
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italofran...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, practical base for seeing Orkney”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled from Edinburgh and didn't arrive until about 10pm. Despite our late arrival, Emma was there to greet us, show us round the property and thoughtfully, had also turned on an extra heater to make the apartment nice and cosy for our arrival. As well as this, she had also bought us a pint of milk and left a basket of Orkney goodies including fudge and oatcakes. This is always a nice touch and was much appreciated.

The apartment is in the centre of Kirkwall and has all that you need nearby; supermarkets, cafes, restaurants and gift shops.

The apartment itself is clean and practical. There is a double bedroom with a huge wardrobe. The bed itself could probably do with a new mattress but this is a minor complaint. Being in Orkney in the summer, I would have liked black-out curtains, but again, this is something minor that did not detract from our positive experience.

The living room is a good size and Emma has furnished it with books and games and a variety of leaflets for tourists to Orkney, There is wifi which is something which we welcomed as unfortunately the TV was not working properly - Emma informed us of this on our arrival and was very apologetic.

The sofa is a sofa bed and as such is not the most comfortable place to sit and relax at night. Most of our time was spent out and about so this wasn't a major issue for us.

The apartment is listed as sleeping up to four. I would say that it's best suited to two people.

We really enjoyed our stay on Orkney and the people we met. Emma was lovely and we would happily stay at her property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
First of all thank you very much for taking your time to post this review. We are glad you enjoyed your time visiting Orkney and staying at Elska Apartment.

With this being our first year in this business we are delighted to accept suggestions and are glad to inform you that all your suggestions will be top of our priority list.

Again thank you so much for your kind words and very useful suggestions for us to better the Apartment.

We would love to welcome you back to Elska Apartment and hope you will choose to stay again if you decide to visit Orkney again!

Sam and Emma
Elska Apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_guznicza...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cozy, sunny, beautifully decorated and well-equipped”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Together with my mum and sister we stayed in this beautiful apartment for 8 nights in May this year. It is a very tastefully decorated and well-equipped accommodation in a very convenient location (5 min walk to the Kirkwall tourist centre, bus station and Orkney ferries harbour, 2min walk to Co-op food shop). This wee flat is as holiday accommodation supposed to be... cozy, sunny, warm, with all appliances working without sightless problem, located in a very quiet alley distant from any traffic noises.
What adds to our very positive experience is the fact that we were warmly welcomed by Emma who remembered about smallest details like milk for our morning coffee and an extra blanket for keeping yourself cozy while enjoying sunny evenings in a wee backhouse garden (with a barbeque;), guide books for planning first days of our stay as well as board games (if you still have a bit of energy in the end of the day). Both Emma and her partner Sam were extremely helpful and this professional but personal approach contributed to our amazing stay.
Staying in that beautiful and functional flat brightens up those less sunny days.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
First of all thank you for your kind words. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your trip to Orkney and stay at Elska Apartment. You are more than welcome back anytime you get the urge to return to Orkney! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing