We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
115
28
24
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
28
24
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuetaster menuquirky hotelgreat location to exploreceremony roomstunning venuerose and crownguests commented on howwould highly recommend this venuewedding receptionbars and restaurantsheld our weddingwhole experiencestayed here for two nightsbirthday treatfrom start to finishtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fabulous birthday celebrate at the belle Epoque last week. I had a dragged canapés and champagne on arrival which we enjoyed in the bar area before dinner. Rally enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the bar and the charming staff (Jean-luc is great fun) we organised a set menu for our guests as we were a large party, and the menu that had been put together for us was perfect, with something to please everyone and at a very reasonable price too. Lovely surprise to receive a sparkling dessert and a happy birthday from the manager. All in all a very enjoyable evening and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank rachelturneruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCCheshire, Owner at Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your birthday celebration at the Belle Epoque. We are delighted to have helped you make it a special occassion and look forward to many mor to come.

Regards

Matthew Mooney, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We held a ladies lunch for 80 people at the Belle Epoque and were thoroughly impressed. Right from the intitial consultation to the decor, food, staff, service, everything was up to the mark. The venue itself has lots of character and doesn't need dressing up. We had fantastic feedback re: the food - quality and portion size. In addition, the staff were most helpful both in the lead up to the event and on the day itself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genesis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCCheshire, Owner at Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host your Charity Lunch. Our very best wishes for your future fundraisering.

regards

Matthew Mooney, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Belle Epoque is not only a chic brasserie with a well-curated menu, a fabulous fine dining restaurant with yards of history and a boutique hotel, but an utterly charming Italianate building in the heart of a Georgian market village. Your experience here will be a truly memorable one.
The staff are helpful and friendly, but not ingratiating. The food in both the brasserie and the main restaurant is fresh, local and inspired by the season and classic preparations. All the meats and vegetables are procured from farmers who are established and excel in their fields (excuse the pun). The Belle Epoque's hotel rooms are well designed and elegantly appointed with luxury and efficiency in mind. Great shower pressure (I live in the States so a strong, hot shower (followed by a strong, cold drink!) is of supreme importance to me); super-comfy beds, piled high with duck down duvets and pillows; satellite tv; plenty of room for your bags and hanging area for your suits and frocks.
The bar's just downstairs (for that cold drink following your hot shower) and it's the perfect synthesis of luscious art nouveau stylishness and casual contemporary simplicity. The menu is the same: classic with very current options. Have a glass of Champagne by the fire in this gorgeous bar and adjourn to the restaurant for a culinary extravaganza. You will find yourself back in the bar to finish that Champagne the staff have kept perfectly chilled for your post prandial. They have some of my favorite Champagnes and wines on their extensive list. They also serve up an excellently composed menu of local, seasonal stars such as saddle of deer. You can order a side of chips cooked in beef dripping too, so the menu feels fabulously haute while accessibly yummy.
The ambience is of celebration: the dining room sparkles, however there's an ease and mellowness about the place so you can tuck in and chill out, order a reasonably priced Lebanese or Spanish wine or splurge for an old Burgundy. Have a good chat with the staff or one of the owners who will most certainly make sure you're having the time of your life!
If you're having a private event, there are special rooms separate from the main rooms in the hotel and a beautiful, romantic outdoor area if the weather allows for al fresco dining or celebrating!
An extraordinary hotel and restaurant(s) with all amenities and polish. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCCheshire, Owner at Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Charity event held at the Belle Epoque. It was an honour and pleasure to support this worthy cause.

Good luck and kind regards

Matthew Mooney, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Myself and my husband got married at the Belle Epoque on 17th February 2012. We had a wonderful day and are so glad we chose this venue. The ceremony room in particular looked spectacular. It was lovely to have separate rooms for the ceremony, the meal and the evening reception. We've been to so many weddings where we have had to wait for rooms to be changed over, the Belle Epoque is unusual in that you can hire the whole place for the day and have different rooms for different parts of the day.
The staff were very helpful in the lead up to the wedding and on the day. The food was really nice and good quality, so many of our guests complimented it. We booked all the rooms and all were very nice, especially the room we stayed in. I would highly recommend the Belle Epoque as a wedding venue.
We also had two meals in the restaurant in the months before our wedding and the food was high quality and good value. The restaurant is also a lovely setting and we will certainly return for a meal at some point.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at the Belle Epoque Saturday 18th Feb 12 for my very best friends wedding.

I work in Knutsford so I am familiar with the venue but not experienced it. But I have to say was blown away with it & so happy my friends decided to book it for their dream wedding.

The hotel rooms are Chic and Simply Gorgous.

The Wedding Venue is absolutely lovely and stunning & was a perfect setting for a magical wedding.

Food quite honestly is delicious & gorgous.

The staff are all brilliant and couldnt do enough for us all.

All in all a fabulous wedding venue & I shall have no hesitation in telling as many people as possible to book the Belle Epoque.

Thankyou for a fabulous day, night, & for making my best friends wedding a dream come true!

Room Tip: There is 7 rooms in this chic hotel and all simply stunning & lavish. We had no.3 & its was gorgous.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaymad186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews