We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly bad, I would keep walking past.”

Piccolino Knutsford
Ranked #21 of 96 Restaurants in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$38 - AU$100
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Piccolino located on the Hight Street, Knutsford, proudly boasts an open kitchen, second floor bar area and a substantial roof top terrace featuring a fully retractable roof, for the ultimate alfresco experience rain or shine!
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

Thought that we would give this place another go having not been for a while and had recently heard some terrible reports. Well I really wish I had not bothered. First impression was not good as we were greeted by a member of staff that could not even find my reservation. After a few minutes we were taken to the upper terrace where we were sat in a small cramped space with sat under what can only be described as a burning hot outdoor heater. After around 10 minutes we were asked to order drinks which took around 10 minutes to arrive. Some time later waiter arrived to take the food order which did eventually arrive. Cold mussels which had to be returned and tasteless, greasy Calamari. We had been in the restaurant for over an hour and all that we had been given was drinks and a starter. About an hour and thirty in the mains arrived (I was at this point about to walk out). Carbonara and a Pizza turned up, again tasteless and uninspiring. Ate what we could manage, a lot left and ordered the bill which as an effort to say the least. In all we were in for 2 hours, 2 hours which I won’t be getting back What we had was not hard to cook, the restaurant was not busy and it appeared that there was a lot of staff too. We will not be going back.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank Curious28469963439
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jack s, Other at Piccolino Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

We are truly sorry to hear of your experience with us Curious28469963439, and I would like to personally ensure we have an opportunity to turn this around. Please get in touch via knutsford.piccolino@individualrestaurants.com and start your email with #8187

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2022

The team at Piccolino's were very accommodating for a family lunch. We booked a table in the heated terrace area and were very impressed with the service, food and friendly staff. Georgiana was very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed, including making sure we were warm with sitting in the covered terrace area. Georgiana was fantastic, along with the rest of the team. The food was delicious, fresh and we had a wonderful lunch. Thank you!

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank HanabU317YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jack s, General Manager at Piccolino Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2022

Thank you for your review and for letting us know how we did! It's great to hear you had a great time with us and I do hope we see you again very soon HanabU317YC.

Nico Lai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2022 via mobile

Went with a friend and we sat in the heated terrace outside as we had a dog with us, so we was not in the main restaurant.

When the server came to take our drinks order, we asked if there was January discount as most restaurants did. The server slightly sneered at us and told us no. We felt it was slightly rude and feel like he didn’t need to answer that way.

When he took our order, we both ordered rump steak and asked how we would like it. My friend asked for medium rare, in which he responded that she should have it medium as it would be tough medium rare and my friend felt obliged to have it medium. I chose to have it medium rare, which he again tried to get me to have it medium. Which I refused. It did worry me that he tried to sell the steak medium to us and even bother asking us how we wanted them. In my opinion, if you cannot have a steak towards the rare side and it’s going to be tough…..it’s not a great piece of meat…

The steak came and to be honest it was ok. It wasn’t tough. So unsure why he wanted us to have it medium.

The server’s attitude and his attentiveness with the service wasn’t great. The server only came out when he only needed to (serve the drinks and food and when we paid) he didn’t check how we was and how the food was.

Based on this, we won’t be rushing to come back as there are so many better places in Knutsford.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank selinaholiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2022 via mobile

Dropped in without booking for a late lunch, welcomed straightaway and seated at lovely booth seat. Delicious food, ambiance and fabulous service from Fausto. Have visited before and consistently high standards maintained.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank storyg2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jack s, General Manager at Piccolino Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Thank you Janetk72619562 so much for the review! Its great to pass excellent feedback onto our teams, so thank you for the shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2022

We have eaten at this restaurant over many years and in terms of service, food and ambiance it has always been to a pleasing standard. We booked a table there some days ago and it was unusually busy but under the management direction of Nico and Jordan, and aided by their engaging staff, the whole restaurant experience was to its usual high standard. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spytry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jack s, General Manager at Piccolino Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Thank you Janetk72619562 so much for the review! Its great to pass excellent feedback onto our teams, so thank you for the shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolino Knutsford also viewed

 

Been to Piccolino Knutsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.