We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #3 of 29 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation & Service”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here in Chopin room while attending a wedding nearby. Located about ten minutes walk from the town centre. Beautifully maintained property, room was spotless with large bathroom (plenty of towels) and luxurious furnishings. Window overlooked next door property but this was the only downside. Comfortable bed and flatscreen TV.

Breakfast excellent with your choice of items, all arrived piping hot and cooked to perfection.

Owners polite and attentive without being overbearing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chopin room is great value, but do not choose if you require a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r4chelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
178
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed for two nights with our grandson in order to enjoy the delights of Lowestoft.

With regard to Lowestoft, we were fortunate to enjoy three days of good weather, especially the last two which were very warm and sunny. The beach between Claremont Pier and the Pakefield end 'opposite the Guest House' is by far the best you will ever come across, superb flat sandy beach and almost pebble free. True Lowestoft is limited for entertainment but we prefer it that way, especially when staying there. We took our grandson to Great Yarmouth in an evening for the lights, amusements and rides, then drove back to the peaceful surroundings of Lowestoft.

Now to the Guest House, it really was first class in every respect. Our accommodation, Schubert Family Room on the top floor, had great views out to sea. The beds were very comfortable and there was also plenty of room for the seating in the room to relax and look out to sea. Tea, coffee, biscuits etc were provided and replenished each day and the ensuite was of good size with a very good shower.

The breakfast was of top restaurant quality, nice fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, cereals, followed by a varied choice of cooked breakfast followed by toast and home made preserves. I have to say that I had the 'Full English' both mornings and it was superb and huge. My wife and grandson were not as greedy as me but had a choice of anything on the menu and in any combination.

As for the hosts, Ann and Colin, you cannot wish to meet a nicer couple and although the turn over of guests must be huge, we certainly were treated like friends the moment we arrived and until we left.

I cannot praise this Guest House high enough, a pity they do not have 6* because this would meet it.

Keith, Marilyn and Ethan from Derby

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just returned after 3 nights. We'd recommend without hesitation!
Very nice clean comfortable rooms. good size flat screen TV, loads of nice touches like fresh water in room, good size towels and comfortable beds.
Gorgeous showers with water softening technology.
Breakfast is lovely. Very fresh and good portions!
Hosts friendly & helpful.
Worthy of it's 5 Stars.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue-Marbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We found Britten House quite by chance when we booked a last minute trip to Lowestoft.The house has been beautifully and sympathetically restored and has been furnished in keeping. Our room was spotless, well appointed and quiet. and everything worked well including the excellent shower. We received a very friendly greeting and were made to feel most welcome. The breakfast was delicious and served in a relaxing atmosphere. This is definitely one to visit again! *****

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javic6gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The best B&B in Lowestoft without a doubt! The facilities here are no doubt excellent but what makes the experience even better is the fantastic couple running the place: Colin and Ann. The room was as good as any five star accomodation: the room had a large double and a single bed, was very modern, the toilet was of a large size with excellent shower, there was tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. Every little detail is taken care of: there was a luggage mat on the beds and a tray for footwear. Colin greeted us at the door and showed us around the hotel. The room had a brilliant view of the sea. The best bit of the stay was the brilliant breakfast, part of the room rate, a full English (the eggs were particularly good, also jam home made by Ann). Will definitely recommend the place!

Room Tip: Ring early to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksab26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
3.1 km away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
394 reviews
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
0.1 km away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
456 reviews
0.3 km away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#4 of 29 in Lowestoft
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Property: Britten House
Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price range (per night): $107 - $135
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing