We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Studio by the Sea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EFeakes
Stotfold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing...”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I can highly recommend Studio by the sea ​as a great place to stay. From the​ beautiful decor and amazingly comfortable bed, to the​ delicious​breakfast delivered to your door every morning, Studio by the Sea is on par with a 5 star hotel room - you​ really​could not ask for more​!​

Studio by the Sea has amazing views across the New Forest and is ​about a 15 minute walk to the Isle of wight ferry link​, ​which we took during our stay. ​We can also recommend a ​lovely pub ​called the Waggon & Horses, which is a short walk from the Studio, where we enjoyed an excellent meal with very attentive and friendly staff. ​

Annabelle and Jon made us feel very welcome​,​even before we arrived​! They took the trouble to check in​ with us​to ask if they could help with anything i.e. restaurants, spas, ferry​costs.​ ​During our stay we did a ​long walk on the Isle of White ​and ​had planned to order a takeaway ​to eat back at the Studio​ that evening​, unfortunately places​ in Lymington​do not deliver take out​s, so Annabelle kindly offered to drive us into Lymington later that evening to pick up some food​. It is things like this ​that for us ​really make Studio by the Sea so special​. Annabelle and Jon ​ really look after their guests.​ Thank you for having us and we will hopefully be back soon! Emma & Jess

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thanks Emma & Jess, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes Annabelle & Jon King.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catjsy
jersey, c.i.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect :)”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We travel regularly to Lymington but usually stay in a hotel in Southampton and commute. Found this place on Trip advisor and absolutely loved it! Annabelle is lovely, the studio is immaculate and done out exactly to our taste... The location is perfect for us and we absolutely loved the breakfast...Annabelle, your homemade bread and jam is to die for...thank you for making us feel so welcome....we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Shower was a bit dodgy!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel V
1 review
“Cosy, luxurious B&B in great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for a few nights and got great weather. Lovely B&B - separate to main building, very private, more of a studio flat and very friendly owner who laid on a great continental breakfast each day at a time of our choosing with home-squeezed OJ and fresh coffee, lovely. Recently refurbished so lovely décor and very comfy huge double bed and large modern shower (no bath though). We stayed in good weather and it is ideally situated for the IOW ferry / cycling / forest walks or sailing. All in all the best B&B we have tried (therefore the first trip advisor review I have ever done!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, big airy room and huge comfy bed!
Liked least: wireless was patchy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieK11...
1 review
“Lovely hospitality and very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Studio by the Sea for five nights. The studio was really comfortable and more than met our needs. The breakfasts, including homemade bread and jam and lots of fresh fruit, were excellent. We appreciated the flexibility the studio gave us - the small kitchenette was a great help. There was plenty of information provided about the local area and useful little extras such a torch and binoculars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe C
Longhope, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the 'Studio by the Sea' during August and we couldn't have found a more idyllic B&B escape.

Firstly, Annabelle and her family could not be anymore welcoming. They provide you with local information and guidance, and are always on hand if the need arises, but they have created an atmosphere and set-up that allows you to have a private retreat.

The accommodation
The studio is separate to the main house, so although you get all the advantages of a B&B, you also benefit from being in a self contained unit. The aesthetic and decor of the place is beautiful, and caters for every need you might have, as well as offering extras such as local artisan soaps - all of which really sets this place above par. There is also an outdoor seating/dining area which has stunning views over the countryside, and towards the Isle of Wight.

The breakfast
Wow! Not only is this delivered at a time to suit you (up until 10am), but what is on offer is a delight. Everyday we were excited to receive our hamper and tray filled to the brim with fresh fruit, pastries, steaming coffee, freshly pressed OJ, and homemade bread (and many more delights). The icing on the cake was the lovely homemade jam, made from berries collected locally - my only regret being, that I was too shy to ask for the recipe.

Location
The location is perfect. In particular for me and my partner as we love both the countryside and being by the sea. We were able to access the New Forest easily with our bikes and to walk down to Lymington's centre. In addition, we were a stones throw from the Isle of Wight ferry, thus excursions (and meals if we had been more organised) over to island were simple. If you would like to travel further afield there are local taxis (kindly listed by Annnabelle in your welcome pack), or you are not far from the New Forest bus link. As a daily car commuter this was bliss for me, as the only time I had to sit in my car was when I arrived and departed, the latter being something neither us wanted to do.

Local recommendations
In our accommodation we found a welcome pack, which was extremely useful in making sure you got the most out of your stay. I would definitely recommend speaking to Annabelle regarding recommendations for restaurants - all of them were spot on. Please, please make sure you do this as soon as you book - I left some too late and they were booked up, and from looking a the menus I can see why. However, we were still very lucky to get reservations at a few and had some stunning meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely long review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon perhaps? Best wishes from the King Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 160
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing