We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Reviewed 18 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elaine W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect!”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We have just returned from this beautiful little place and can't wait to book again! Ideally situated for the New Forest, Beaulieu estate/National Motor Museum/Autojumble as well as Lymington Harbour and Strawberry Fields Car Boot Sale.
Spotlessly clean, very comfy beds ,lovely home made bread, jam and cakes as well as smoked salmon, bagels, croissants, milk and fresh eggs waiting for us when we got there. Vanessa and her friends are lovely and their dogs are gorgeous too! There are lots of dvds , games and books for entertainment too.
The phone signal isn't great in these parts of the UK but we were offered the chance to be added to Vanessa's network. The Wi-fi is super fast and we could watch Sky Go on my laptop with no trouble. My one tiny comment would be a request for a slightly larger TV but other than that I cannot fault this place. x

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellad99...
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed for 3 nights here with our little boy and it was perfect. We had fresh bread, cake and everything you need for breakfast each day. The owners were very welcoming, whilst respecting your privacy.
Would definitely stay again and would recommend this beautiful place to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smysa
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional Stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Had the most wonderful stay at Defoe House. Lovely welcome from Vanessa who made us feel very much at home. Delicious homemade chocolate cake was very much appreciated on arrival. Clean, tidy, comfortable accommodation. Perfect for myself, husband and 2 children. Parking space and breakfast catered for and excellent location in the heart of the forest. We will definitely return. Thank you Vanessa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosewomb
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect ”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I booked a stay for 3 nights for myself, partner and our 2 children - I really cannot recommend enough! We’ve been telling our family and friends about our stay and they all want to book a stay themselves! they’ve said it sounds better than any b&b they’ve visited. The homemade bread and cake was completely delicious and we’re missing it already, Vanessa was lovely and warm and gave some great ideas of where to visit. We felt welcome and comfortable at all times, the beds were soft and more comfortable than any hotel I’ve stayed in! It felt such a shame to go so soon! a really great find and we’d love to stay again. Thank you Vanessa! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing