We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just lovely x”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Salisbury...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lovely x”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for two nights and couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the accommodation, hospitality of Vanessa, the wonderful breakfast or the location of this lovely cottage. Highly recommended, thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review. Lovely to have met you both and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Timeless Classic”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are seeking a family run, friendly plce for you and your family, no bigger than three or four in a party, want an element of privacy and seclusion teamed with home comforts, then this is the place for you. The setting in the heart of the new forest could not be better, cycling and walking trails are in abundance. On top of the superb location, the accommodation is excellent, clean, warm and very welcoming , with a perfect kitchen and bathroom for good measure . You really can't fault Vanessa's welcome or the comfort of the property she has lovingly built,, the walks which you will have to take my word for are amazing, and much needed after her amazing full English to set you up for the day ahead, it's our second visit to Dafoe House, and we look forward to coming back in the spring .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your time in writing another review. Lovely to have met you all again and well done in walking so many miles that weekend!
Looking forward to seeing you all next year.
Best Wishes Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy H
Cobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully secluded and delightful accommodation”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one night in this gem of a place. We were warmly greeted by Vanessa and George (and of course their delightful dog Alfie!) with some delicious lemon cake. The accommodation is separate from the house and with all amenities. The bed was really comfortable, the room was warm and cosy and with lots of space including a sofa, large wardrobe, table and chairs as well as a separate kitchenette. It is superbly located in the New Forest with some excellent pubs within walking distance. We will definitely return for another weekend break here. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Lovely to have met you both on your minibreak to the New Forest. Thank you for your kind review, Best Wishes Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryTatlo...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful and just the job!”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having booked directly, we have not long returned from a 2 night stay at this gem of a property tucked away in the heart of the New Forest. We were in the area for a family funeral in Bournemouth but wanted a base nearby to unwind for a couple of days afterwards whilst near such a beautiful corner of the country. Detached enough from the main house to give us the privacy required, but near enough to benefit from the convenience of a delicious home cooked breakfast each morning and first hand knowledge of the area from Vanessa and her husband George. We found the property to be spotlessly clean, with all the modern conveniences, but with the charm you'd expect from a cottage. The bed was one of the most comfy we've slept in and there were plenty of pillows and extra bedding available if required.
Oh, and did I mention the scrumptious freshly baked lemon drizzle cake that greeted us on our arrival?
Thank you Vanessa for a perfect retreat and thank you to other trip advisor viewers that gave us the confidence to book!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you for spending the time to write a review.
Very glad to hear that you had a lovely time with us, despite the reason why you were visiting.
Hopefully will see you both again in the future.
Best Wishes Vanessa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and poor value for money”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The good points: Friendly welcome, excellent breakfast, offered use of maps, local information provided. Good wi-fi. The negatives: Photos suggest a lovely cottage - in reality an outbuilding directly between a garage and a workshop which suffers from a serious lack of privacy, being totally overlooked by the main house and including an adjoining door to the workshop which permits noise/speech to travel in each direction. We were looking for a quiet weekend in seclusion and sadly this was not our experience. Obviously not for us but full marks to Vanessa for her efforts. Definitely not a 5 star in my opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality during your stay, particularly the breakfasts and information regarding local information we have to offer.
However I was disappointed to hear that you felt that your stay lacked the seclusion which you were hoping for. I have always felt that the photographs on the Holiday Lettings website give a good impression of the annex's position in relation to our home, particularly the one labelled “view of Defoe House with annex to the left”. However I will review these again, to ensure future guests are aware that although completely separate to our home they are within our family garden. The annex does indeed sit behind our garage, however the adjoining door is to my husband’s office, which is kept locked and only used as an extra fire escape for guests. (There is no workshop on the site.)
Finally, I was surprised to read that you consider our property to be poor value for money. When I first started two years ago I asked guests to complete a questionnaire to confirm (amongst other things) that I was charging a suitable price. Without exception the 25 or so responses said the pricing was “about right”, one added “excellent value but you’d be forgiven for charging more”. You were all charged at the same rate.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although I’m sorry that on this occasion your stay wasn’t as you were expecting.
Best Wishes Vanessa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing