We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's stay....”
Review of The Bosun's Chair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bosun's Chair
Ranked #12 of 40 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We took two rooms for a night here last week. Check-in isn't until 5pm as the pub doesn't open at lunchtime, but as we arrived the owner was outside, so checked us in and was happy for us to eat our picnic in their beer garden....very accommodating! The rooms were comfortable, very clean and with good bathrooms. Excellent, freshly cooked breakfast, the bacon was fabulous. Only disappointment was the bar area, it was very dark and not very welcoming, a sort of dark green throughout, including the ceiling! Bit like breakfasting in a cave :-). Otherwise, all very good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We were given the name of this place by a local and when we arrived the outside looked like a run down pub ..BUT the rooms were outstanding the room we had looked to be newly refurbished and very modern.The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to please and breakfast was a feast - certainly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hancocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Lovely little b&b ... Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Within easy walking distance of Lymington high street its worth a visit and stay ... Tho it is with disappointment that Russ is leaving for pastures new soon ... Good luck if your new venture is as good as the Bosuns chair then it will be a success

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This hotel is a simple, B&B which runs by a very very friendly and nice family and the hotel itself has in a very good location, with beautiful garden, free parking, fast wifi and is very clean. We loved our stay and the way they served the breakfast as no one waist any food. It's a pub underneath the hotel and the Lokal ppl are coming there. We enjoyed talking to the people and got lots of interesting tips.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MehBir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We chose this B&B based on reviews. It is on the edge of the town and lovely and quiet. We were at the back of the pub on the second floor. The place is tired and needs some updates. The ensuite door did not shut properly. The room was very basic and tired. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The coffee machine was excellent. The pub was closed at lunchtime. In the evening, there were only a couple of other customers and no atmosphere. We sat and played board games. The barmaid was not very welcoming and was reluctant to cook when we tried to order food. The staff at breakfast were all very pleasant. The breakfast was cereal, toast and jams, and a full English which was very tasty. I feel the B&B was a little overpriced for the facilites offered.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank RufusCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0 km away
Britannia House
Britannia House
#4 of 40 in Lymington
338 reviews
4.6 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
3.3 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
1 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.2 km away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bosun's Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bosun's Chair

Address: Station Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bosun's Chair 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bosun's Chair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bosun`s Chair Hotel Lymington
The Bosun's Chair Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing