We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
521
338
178
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
521
338
178
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique roomshealth clubdance holidayevening mealdance floorswimming poolstandard roomlovely hotelsnooker tablebreakfast was buffet stylesea viewsea frontwaiting staffself serviceleisure facilitiesrestaurant stafffood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for two nights as part of a wedding party. As reviewed below the wedding itself was lovely and the staff catered for us well.

However, the rooms were sadly very outdated. The first room we had was situated over what we assume was the pool filter system. As there was no air con and ot was a scorcher of a weekend we had a very uncomfortable night having to shut the windows to block out the noise - we had asked to be moved but were told the place was fully booked and offered a desk top fan - which was duly left outside the room but failed to work. Two of the over the bed lights buzzed, the bathroom showed signs of ageing and the mattresses were awfully uncomfortable.

For the second night we were moved to a room right the other end of the hotel which was fortunately a lot quieter. However the shower was impossible to deal with as the bath sloped so much it was impossible to stand underneath it! Soap came from a faded dispenser emblazoned with the previous guesthouse name. Plug points were minimal in number which was really impractical.

Again the mattresses were truly awful and pillows inadequate.

Both times we spoke to reception we had to queue behind similarly aggrieved parties.

I can appreciated the hotel is old and has a great location etc etc but the management need to get a move on with renovations and accept that guests expect certain standards.

Were it not for the fact that we were attending an event and therefore constricted by that timetable we would have been a lot more vocal during our stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank essjaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

hi many thanks for taking the time to write a review .and thankyou for your comments on the wedding reception we were pleased you enjoyed the food and service as regards the rooms these particular rooms are on our refurbishment programme for the coming winter months .as you may appreciate we are a three star family owned and run seaside hotel and are continually re investing on a refurbishment programme.as you were late to book and the hotel was full and you were on a discounted rate we were sorry you couldnt upgrade to our boutique rooms, where you would have been more suited we hope you may visit us again in the future where we will ensure your rooms to be favourable cheers from all the team at inn on the prom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Weekend with friends at this lovely hotel. Excellent accommodation. Really friendly and very helpful staff. Met Dex, who is a dead ringer for David Emmanuel, only much younger wish I could download the photo here so you could see.. He helped myself and friend with our suitcases as he could see we were struggling. The breakfast was wonderful, well cooked and lots of choice, also evening meal was lovely too. Left my phone charger in room 175 and Joanne went out of her way to locate it and post it off to me. Stay at this hotel you will not regret it, there is also a hair dresser and spa with a pool. Really pleased that I am staying in Feb next year and also July 18. Looking forward to it. Well done, Inn on the Prom.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

hi really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review it was a real pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you very soon cheers from all your friends at inn on the prom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Just had an amazing 2 nights stay at this fabulous hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Linda, in the spa located in the Hotel, was fabulous and helped to de-stress the whole family with her incredible massages - would definitely recommend her to everybody! Thank you so much - we will be back...

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank VicB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

hi really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and a five star one at that it was a real pleasure to be of service to the whole family .and we look forward to looking after you again on your next visit cheers from linda and all your friends at inn on the prom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We stay in st annes at least 8 times a year and have Just had our first 2 night weekend stay at this hotel. Only Booked a few days before so not much choice of rooms left but knowing we would be out most of the time we went for a standard room.
Parking at hotel very good ( big car park) check in was ok.( just told room number,and breakfast times). Our room was on floor no 1 ( 185). Very basic twin bedded room ,dark decor view out on to a courtyard. Bathroom very dated .( But nice white bathroom towels) selection of basic drinks tea/coffee ( small tin with 5 teabags in) no bottle waters,no hot chocolate mix..( But the beds were comfy)
Breakfast was serve in the basement very nice set up and the cooked breakfast was lovely. Staff very nice.
The outside of hotel has a few seating areas which would be nicer if they were raised up a bit so your not on same level as carpark. Lounge areas very nice. In house Entertainment was very good. Never got round to using swimming pool but it did look nice.
I feel that this hotel could do with the standard bedrooms being upgraded and to offer the extras as bottled water/ hot chocolate etc. The corridors could do with brightning up the wall paper is so dark.
I would stay again as I liked it. But would need to have a good deal on one of the better rooms

Room Tip: Not standard.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

hi really appreciate you taking the time to write a nice review and we thank you for your comments the hotel is a family owned and run seaside three star hotel we doo our utmost to look after our guests all our rooms are different in size and décor may we respectfully request you book one of our boutique front rooms where im sure will be a bit more to your liking .we are continually refurbishing and up dating rooms and prioritise as we can .we doo look forward to welcoming you back soon cheers from all your friends at inn on the prom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Great weekend Self serve breakfast superb. Great rooms. Fantastic staff, friendly and willing.
Highly recommend. Bar staff very attentive and friendly. Good bar snacks also. Nothing to much trouble
Evening entertainment ok yet basicgreat for children.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

hi really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review it was a pleasure to be of service we look forward to welcoming you back soon cheers from all your friends at inn on the prom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews