We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We won't be back”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Poor hotel for the money we paid. Rooms were tatty and pool is unattended and a bit grubby. Buffet breakfast was OK. Staff not very helpful with a complaint and a bit disorganised when the fire alarm went off. Hotels own website is misleading. Make sure you read all reviews before booking this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not find your stay value for money. I appreciate there are areas within the hotel that require decoration and these are being attended to through our rolling refubishment program. I am disappointed that you found our website misleading.Our photos and content are genuine, so find it difficult to understand how we have misled you in that respect. We are sorry to hear that you won't be returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    268
    119
    64
    42
See reviews for
439
159
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Could do a lot worse for somewhere to lay your head, as my wife and I did when going to a party in St Annes, but the St Ives is a bit run down and in need of considerable upgrading. Nothing bad about the place, and we did get a deal of £40 for a Saturday night, but the rooms are tired and peeling, and the restaurant (for breakfast) was a bit of a canteen, though the food was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, General Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room. We are continually updating our rooms and certainly appreciate your feedback. I would be grateful if you could inform us which room number you are referring to in order that I can personally check the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

When for one night and it's a hotel that as the lot great indoor pool great singer in the ballroom great breakfast fab staff will book again and great location.Should be a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pockets9772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us this weekend. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and so pleased to hear you will book with us again. Loved your recommend for a 4 star rating! It was great to hear this as we have a family saying that we are a 2 star hotel offering an all star service! Look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

24&25 Feb, weekend stay with my partner and my daughter (8) . The weekend went too quick. It was the first time my partner had stayed here and he loved it. (well it wouldn't stop me re-booking anyway!!) Hotel Staff shine, and are always very helpful, polite, friendly and presentable. Pam, yet again, cant do enough for us, a special thank you to her, You always go the extra mile and make us feel at home. Its always good to see the regular faces of the staff, who are obviously happy here too. We all love this Hotel and could never stay elsewhere in St Annes (at least until our youngest grows up). Location is second to none, but the hotel is so relaxed and child friendly, you hardly see your children as they are in such a happy safe environment making friends and having fun. Kids are always entertained, Josie is great too. (kids play worker/entertainer). the Wii is a fab idea and the sports on the TV keeps the men happy too! Its so good to come here and feel like, even though u have child/ren, that you have actually had a break yourselves too. The Restaurant breakfast and dinner are fabulous and cook certain food fresh to order as you like it with no bother, kids love the ice cream (Mr whippy), and the independance of getting the food themselves. The restaurant is elegant, of a high standard and service is too, so, you might need to ask for the odd thing, like wine or a steak knife but service is always prompt and friendly too. The bedrooms vary and are acceptable, clean but a little dated, though yr hardly in your room. Everything else makes up for this and i dont see it any problem. We stayed in apt and were exceptionally happy, and recommend this to larger families who might benefit from the living room space too. Its good to lounge too in the reception area, of a day, and especially after the bar has closed and you can still get the odd drink just after, while you try to round the kids up to sit together to say goodnight before bed. Definately see you again soon, love from yr friends, Pam Peter and Skye in Liverpool

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely review . We are very lucky to have such warm and friendly staff and are very proud of all of them especially when we read such praising comments. One of our main aims at the St.Ives Hotel is to provide a relaxed environment where our guests both little ones and big ones feel comfortable and at home so it was good to hear you felt this during your stay.Your comments regards the facilities were great .especially loved the idea of you rounding up the children to say goodnight in the evening..we may to rename you the Waltons Family! So glad to hear that you will be returning soon. Once again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I booked into this hotel at short notice for one night over the weekend. The good things about the hotel? It does have a great location on the seafront, it is close to the main square in St-Anne's and staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection including the usual 'fry-up' stuff. On the down side, we found the quality of the accommodation overall average. The room was small for a double, the decor was dated and a bit tired and the mattress on the bed was dreadful with no support at all.
It served our purposes for this very short stay and was economical but there was little to draw us back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneKLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfast however we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good nights sleep and were disappointed with the accommodation. We do invest in a rolling refurbishment plan in the hotel and rooms continue to be refurbished. I would be interested to know which room you stayed in so that I can personally review the room. We have a large selection of rooms varying in size, layout, positioning, decor etc so we do hope you will return and give us another chance on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.8 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.3 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price range (per night): $140 - $206
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, England, UK
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing