We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond Expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury Thached Cottage with Courtyard Garden, near Oakham / Stamford - A Cottage for all easons
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury Thached Cottage with Courtyard Garden, near Oakham / Stamford - A Cottage for all easons
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Luxury Thached Cottage with Courtyard Garden, near Oakham / Stamford - A Cottage for all easons
Sticky End
Second Bedroom (Small Double)
Master Double Bedroom (with toilet & sink)
Traditional Cobbled Cottage Garden
Traditonal Pine Country Kitchen
Cosy Kitchen Dining Area
Beamed Lounge with Inglenook Fireplace
Stick End Embroidery
Courtyard Garden
Cottesmore Village
Sun Inn - Cottesmore Village Pub
Warm Winter Retreat
Quaint Little Library
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oakham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NikkiJust...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Expectations!”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a truely wonderful find. From the moment you step into the Sticky End cottage you're overwhelmed with the attention to detail with the homely decor & antiques displayed throughout this little gem. We have stayed in some lovely holiday cottages, and this is up there with the best! It is spotlessly clean throughout and everything has been thought of to ensure you have the perfect stay.
Thank you Martin & Julia for sharing this beautiful property with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
You are very welcome! Many thanks for your kind comments & we hope to welcome you back to either Sticky End, or our other thatched cottage, Little Thatch in Seaton(near Uppingham), before too long.

Best regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy_12...
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A superbly equipped cottage in an attractive Rutland village”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked Sticky End to be near Rutland Water for Birdfair and were delighted to find such an attractive cottage, full of interesting antiques and decorations. We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and this ranks as one of the best appointed.
The village of Cottesmore is ideally situated for visiting Rutland Water, with its many nature reserves. For the keen birdwatcher we'd also recommend making the trip to Frampton Marsh near Boston. But there are many other local places of interest - Burghley House, Barnsdale Gardens, Oakham, Stamford, etc.
We've already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attractive decor
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you for the great feedback & kind comments that you took the time to post. We are delighted that you enjoyed your week at Sticky End & really look forward to welcoming you back again next August!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslieupc...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful well equipped cottage in a lovely country village”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with my wife at this lovely cottage. It looks the part from the outside with thatched roof and enclosed walled courtyard. Inside it is even more impressive. It is quite a large house with bigger rooms than you might think from the outside. The decor is amazing, a cross between a museum and a well equipped antique shop. Collections of various items adorn the shelves and the walls, teddy bears, old shop signs, champagne corks, scales. You can, and we did, spend a whole morning just working your way through the items on display. This collection must have taken a long time to put together.
The house is probably the best equipped we've ever stayed in. We tried thinking of anything that might be missing, searched for it and always found it.
The courtyard is a lovely suntrap, on the days we were blessed with that unusual thing in the sky, with table and chairs set out among the flowers.
Cottesmore itself is a pretty village, full of thatched and old stone buildings. The pub, The Sun Inn, did good food and ale and felt a friendly place.
I managed some cycling on one of the days and cycled down to and round Rutland Water. It takes approx. 12-15 mins to get to the reservoir and then you are on a dedicated cycleway all around the lake. On the way down you go past the award winning Hambleton Bakery and Barnsdale Gardens, both of which we recommend.
A useful addition running to Cottesmore for the first time this year, is the Shorelink bus. This runs every day from Oakham via various villages round Rutland Water to Uppingham and then back again about four times a day. It is a full size bus capable of taking bikes. We bought an all day ticket for £4 each.
On the cons side of the stay (otherwise it will look like I'm the owner!). The road can get very busy especially at school drop off time and going to and from work time. Noise from the road, however, was never an issue. The parking is really on a strip beside the road, which makes it difficult to park when the traffic is heavy. The garage attached is probably only usable if you have an original Mini car.
This is a lovely house to stay in, in a pretty and rural part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The internal decor
Liked least: The parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2014
Thank you for your very kind & comprehensive feedback. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you both back to Sticky End, or indeed our new cottage, Little Thatch near Uppingham, in the not too distant future.

PS: Just as a general point for potential future bookers, we have had a variety of small cars parked in the garage (including a Caterham & Porsche), however most guests do prefer to park at the front of the cottage. The road (B668) is certainly busier at the times mentioned, although has never been an issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireand...
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautifully quaint home from home.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful week in this beautiful country cottage. Great place for a romantic getaway, my husband and I really enjoyed our trip. Martin and Julia were very helpful and accommodating and even left us a welcome gift of home-made cake and champagne. We would like to add that the pictures do not do the place justice, Sticky End is a lot bigger than the pictures make it look and the place is full of charm - even had a little library! We particularly enjoyed the amazing fireplace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'home-like' country cottage feel and the owners were very helpful and willing to accommodate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. We were delighted to help you celebrate your honeymoon and that you found the cottage to be an ideal romantic venue. We very much hope to welcome you both back to Sticky End, or our new cottage, Little Thatch near Uppingham, in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
613Angela...
Leende, The Netherlands
1 review
“Relaxing and cosy, with all home comforts”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Sticky End, and ait was just as we remembered with all our needs catered for. The cottage is comfortable and cosy, and Martin and Julia have thought of everything, as well as sharing all their lovely antiques and nostalgiic artefacts with their guests, but still maintaing all modern comfort. Ideal for a couple or a family with one child Sticky End felt like home!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback. You have been perfect guests on both occasions that you have stayed and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sticky End, or our new cottage, Little Thatch, in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing