We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Paradise”
Review of Man of Ross Inn

Man of Ross Inn
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional, local family-run pub in the idyllic countryside of Herefordshire. Over looking stunning views of the Wye Valley, the Man of Ross is the ideal place to go for a drink or delicious home cooked food. We have a vast drinks collection of local ciders and ales, lagers, wines, soft drinks and freshly brewed coffee. All of our food is as locally sourced as possible and home cooked to order. Our lunchtime menu offers light bites such as sandwiches and baguettes to homemade pub classics. The Chef specialises in fresh seafood dishes which vary weekly depending on what fresh fish is available. Also, locally sourced Hereford steaks are served daily such as a 16oz T-Bone and our 'Trio of Steaks'. Sunday Roast is served every week using only local meat and produce. Pop in to have a pleasant experience and warm by our cosy wood burner or relax outside in the sun admiring views of the River Wye during the summer season.
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We called in here to sample the fish having looked it up on line.
The pub is dog friendly and you are made very welcome.
On the day i had the tempura fish and chips which was light, delicate and tasty and my wife had dressed crab with salad and New potatoes. She reckons it was the best dressed crab she had ever had and we live by the Dorset coast. The fish had been delivered fresh from Brixham that morning.
We did see a couple of the fish platters taken out to other customers who commented on how good they were. But they were huge so make sure you are hungry.

Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Man of Ross Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for your review.We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.Maybe try the platter if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

What a fantastic afternoon we shared here with the locals last Saturday. The staff and locals made us really welcome too. we also enjoyed fantastic BBQ Swordfish and prawns at really reasonable prices too. Lovely beer too.

Thank Reesh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Man of Ross Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the seafood BBQ as it was something new we were testing! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

I went to this pub while on holiday in the area. The place offers an amazing view over the river if you are sitting outside. Inside is cosy. The service was excellent,the owner the waitress the chef are very friendly, smiling and really accommodating. I ordered some crab from the specials menu. Looking at the list I think food is suitable for vegetarians, not sure about vegans. My meal was excellent and from the feedback my friends gave, they also enjoyed their meal very much. Portions are very generous, too much probably for what one can eat (I personally don't like food going to waste), but great value for money. Thank you for the great experience you gave me :-)

Thank viaggiare2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Man of Ross Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We called in for a lunch time drink on a hot day. We could have sat outside in the sunshine, but sat inside were it was slightly cooler. The staff were helpful and we had some delicious crusty baguettes with our cold drink. The ham was thick and tasty and the bacon in the bacon and brie freshly cooked and generous. A good light lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Man of Ross Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

A visit to watch the football and have a few beers.
Bar service excellent, good beers to boot.
Friendly stall too.
Seating outside at the front of the pub.
Well with a visit.

Thank HenryCrabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Man of Ross Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for visiting and leaving a positive review, we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Man of Ross Inn also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
 

Been to Man of Ross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing