We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveller rating
594
467
143
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
467
143
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictfantastic viewscar parktown centreweekend breakwithout exceptionboth nightsevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I absolutely love the Wye valley and have stayed in a few hotels in the area.... this is the best so far! We didnt eat here as arrived late but the menu looked really good value for money.Lovely terrace which i will definitely visit during the summer for a few drinks. Check in was fast and efficient.. staff were friendly. The building is very impressive and the huge sash windows are beautiful. Overall we had a lovely stay ... but as i paid more than i was a little disappointed with the size of the room - especially the bathroom... i shouldve checked to see if there was a bath when i booked really as id have preferred the option. The bathroom fan was very very loud and may need looking at cos im sure thats not normal. The bed was clean and comfortable .... but the headboard was very dusty ... the whole room needed a good polish...sounds nit-picky but at over £100 per night i wouldnt really expect that to be overlooked. These are only small points(would upgrade to a superior room if i stayed again)so i would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.... after all if your room is at the front who is looking for dust ? Its all about the location and fabulous view!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vici P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Vici,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Whilst with a view like ours you don't spend much time looking for dust it's still not right and we are really sorry! Our team are always striving to do their very best and we are sorry we let you down on this occasion - we promise to do our absolute most to be 100% for your next visit with us!
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The staff are always so friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent value for money with a good choice. It’s easy to book a table via Facebook/messenger and it’s worth keeping an eye on the Royals Facebook page for the latest offers. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Jon,
Thank you - we really appreciate your kind words! See you again soon!
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

we stayed 3 days and had a great time
hotel is in a lovely location with great views of river wye
bedrooms are comfortable and good pub food served
all the staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome
we have stayed at quite a few old engish inns and this was probably the best overall

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Martin,
Great to hear that the team made you so welcome during your stay with us. We are so lucky with on spot overlooking the river, but its our team that makes stays with us so special!
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Checked in on Friday 23rd March for 2 nights. The staff are really friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I have stayed in other Old English Inns and this is by far one of the best. As soon as you arrive, you feel a genuine welcome. Enjoyed it so much I am planning to go back, possibly for Christmas. Thank you to all the team on a well run hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank StevePearsonWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Steve,
Thank you for your kind, kind words - we also like to think we are one of the best Old English Inns to visit and our team work hard to make sure every guest feels the same!
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed for 2 nights on a deal which made it a bargain as the hotel was well located,clean,and staffed by people who without exception were very pleasant and professional .Our room was situated the newer annex and was quite large with comfy beds although the bathroom was a touch small and the wi-fi didn't connect but this wouldn't stop us from staying again

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind words - great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us this month. We regular run Old English Inn deals so its a great idea to subscribe to our mailer list via our website to not risk missing out!
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews