We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Brookfield House

Brookfield House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #19 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in. Good parking, hosts friendly and helpful. Just a couple of minutes walk to the town. Good breakfast. Our room was lovely and quite large.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our arrival at the Brookfield House was like arriving at a traditional English Manor House! Robin and Kaye were very welcoming, served tea and biscuits, and spent time getting to know us, our background and interests. The family room we stayed in was elegant, spacious and clean, and the bed with the golden headboard real impressed my wife! The breakfast was of superb quality and was beautifully served - a gourmet's delight. The location was ideal for a walk into town and to one of the fine restaurants there. The parking was also plentiful and easy to access. You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spent a wonderful 3 nights, 15/17 Sept 2011 at Brookfield House with our friends, Pat, Ron, Joyce and Ian.
Our charming hosts, Robin and Kaye were very kind and helpful in recommending restaurants in the area and then making reservations on our behalf. They both have a great deal of knowledge on the local amenities and places of interest which we found very helpful.
On arrival, we were greeted with tea or coffee and delicious home made cake. This was repeated each afternoon of our stay.
The on-suite rooms were spacious with extremely comfortable king size beds. All rooms were tastefully decorated.
Each room was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities also there was biscuits and bottled water which was replenished each day.
The breakfasts were out of this world with such choices as cereals, fresh fruit salads, yoghurt, Scrambled egg with smoked salmon and of course full English breakfasts, all cooked to perfection.
Brookfield House is well situated for visiting picturesque towns and villages and is within walking distance of the town centre of Ross on Wye.
We highly recommend Brookfield house B & B to anyone contemplating a stay in the area.
Val and Rick White, Sussex

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kechanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brookfieldhouse, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Rick, Val, Joyce, Ian, Ron and Pat,
It was so lovely having you at Brookfield House, you were charming guests and we so enjoyed getting to know you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again the next time you visit the area.
Warm Regards,
Kaye and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We spent two nights at Brookfield House during August.
The room was lovely – clean and spacious with a comfy bed, biscuits, teas, water etc.
Breakfast was great – plenty of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, a choice of cereals and a cooked breakfast as well.
Robin and Kaye were very welcoming and have some great knowledge about the local area and were able to recommend places for us to visit in our spare time.
There is parking available and the house is within walking distance of Ross-on-Wye.
We’ve already recommended the place to friends and hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayp_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We cannot say enough about the house and the hosts! We spent 3 nights here in July on our month-long vacation in England and Wales. We immediately sensed a kind of "kinship" with both Robin and Kaye. We value highly the pleasant wide-ranging conversations with them. Their recommendations for sights as well as shopping - we needed an additional suitcase! - were very useful and highly appreciated. We enjoyed the "luxury" of a very spacious and comfortable room. The bed was perfect, and the room had a lovely view. It was also very convenient to have a large and easily accessible car park behind the house. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice.
Brookfield House, with Robin and Kaye, are well-deserving of their very high Trip Advisor rating. We sincerely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EE-squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.7 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,101 reviews
0.6 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
1.2 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
470 reviews
7.5 km away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 km away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#9 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: Over Ross Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price range (per night): $144 - $151
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is a large detached, Georgian Grade II listed house in the historic town of Ross on Wye. We are rated as 4 Star Highly Commended by the AA & all rooms are very spacious double ensuites with comfortable King sized beds.(One bedroom has an adjoining single room whihc can be used for a family member). Each room has a flat screen TV, wifi access and generous service tray with refreshments. Our guest lounge is beautifully decorated. Visitors are welcome to relax in it at any time with a cup of tea or coffee and a piece of home made cake. We have a large private car park and two shed suitable for the secure storage of bicycles. Ross-on-Wye is in an area of Outstanding Natural beauty. It has much to offer visitors from walking, climbing, cycling, canoeing etc to visiting the many historic sites like castles and cathedrals.Living in a rural area, the local restaurants serve locally sourced meat, vegetables and fruit and we are lucky to have some excellent restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing