We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, beautiful setting but a little too...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kingsgrove

Kingsgrove and boathouse from Salcombe estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingsgrove and boathouse from Salcombe estuary
Kingsgrove exterior Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Kingsgrove and boathouse from Salcombe estuary
Kingsgrove exterior
Sitting room
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from kitchen sink
Kitchen
Balcony off sitting room
King bedroom (ground floor)
Shower room (ground floor)
King bedroom (1st floor)
Bathroom (1st floor)
Mug of tea on the beach!
Garden at Kingsgrove
Kingsgrove and its boathouse viewed from Millbay beach
View from Kingsgrove
Balcony off kitchen
Boathouse & Private Beach
VIew from Balcony
Mill Bay
Mill Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SB123Lond...
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house, beautiful setting but a little too remote for us”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Kingsgrove and its views over to Salcombe are truly beautiful. We took advantage of the balconies to sit and gaze out at Mill Bay which looks like a Caribbean cove, surrounded by plush greenery. We met other people who returned year on year and loved the tranquility. However, for our party (which included 3 over 75s who aren't as mobile as they once were) the location was a little too remote. It was our first time to the South Hams and the 30 minute drive out to get a paper or loaf of bread along the same tiny road got a little tedious. If you love spending most of your time on the beach (as there is the fantastic boat house plus boat!) or you like walking out to explore the area it's idyllic. It was a learning curve for us in that we realise we like to feel remote but not be remote!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue641
Hoveton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific holiday”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed the perfect family holiday at Kingsgrove. The house was in a fantastic location with amazing views over the estuary. It was spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated and furnished. We were blessed with glorious weather so all meals were cooked on the barbeque either on the balcony or in the boatshed on the beach.
The boatshed was a wonderful asset and beach was just great. It was everything 3 young children and 5 boat loving adults could wish for. Safe clear water, a lovely sandy beach and plenty of rock pools at low tide.
The extensive visitor pontoons in Salcolme made mooring up inflatables easy and so visits to the town by boat were hassle-free and a wonderful way to shop.
How can we possibly top this holiday next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaSpr...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Holiday!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Kingsgrove for two weeks with our two dogs and it must be one of our best holidays yet. We felt completely relaxed and had a wonderful stay.

The house, boat house and location were all perfect and we were extremely lucky with the weather. The house was lovely and clean and every need was catered for. The boat house was an added bonus and we spent every day down there on Mill Bay beach, our evenings were spent on the terrace in the house watching the sun go down, a beautiful view!

We have booked again for next year as we really don't think we will find a better holiday than Kingsgrove. The perfect holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faspjen
Sevenoaks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! What a fantastic house”
Reviewed 22 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed in Kingsgrove with our 2 small children and had the most fantastic time.

The house is lovely - beautiful views, well equipped and comfortable but the boat house stole the show. Well equipped and tucked in a sheltered cove it felt like we had a private beach all to ourselves. My 3 year old son still talks about it!

We had the most idylic week playing on the beach, taking the watertaxi to Salcombe and South Sands and generally having a wonderful time. We really hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The boathouse
Liked least: Nothing - it was idylic!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineG...
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can it be beaten?!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I doubt it very much!! We stayed at Kingsgrove for one week during May 2012. My husband and I (and our Border Terrier) were lucky enough to be there for the only red hot week so far this year. Where to start..... I should probably say that we have very high standards and Kingsgrove did not disappoint us. The house is very comfortable and the location is absolutely stunning!!!! If I am honest we have rented more luxurious houses in the past, however this is the house we would book time and time again as the views and location are unbeatable. We were initially slightly worried about being on the other side of the estuary but we needn't have as it was not a problem at all, in fact we preferred it. It was a lovely 5 minute walk up the road to catch the ferry boat which we did most days, and then you're in the heart of Salcombe within a couple of minutes. We only used the car to go and see the Olympic torch in Kingsbridge and for a trip out to Dartmouth as it was really not needed. When we were not in Salcombe or on the beach, we were on the balcony off the kitchen enjoying the ever changing view. We sat out there every morning and every evening, enjoying a glass of wine most days. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything that we needed for our stay. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable, and again the views from the lounge and bedroom windows are picture postcard. The boat house was the icing on the cake and it is very well equipped- would be an amazing bonus if you are holidaying with children. If we had to find something to complain about then the upstairs bathroom would probably benefit from a different shower screen as we did find that a lot of water leaked out, but this really is not a problem and we just used the shower downstairs. Both bathrooms are very clean and modern and the house was spotless on arrival. This house would be our dream home because of its location and beautiful garden. One day maybe if we win the lottery!!! To sum up... Don't hesitate book it, as I promise you that you won't regret it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ever changing view of the estuary
Liked least: Coming home:(
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing