We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My 50th Birthday weekend away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitelady House

Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Massive of room for entertaining! The drawing room overlooking the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Massive of room for entertaining!
The drawing room overlooking the garden
The expanse of Dartmoor 500 yds from your front door
The front aspect of the house
Relax in the hot tub after a day out on the moors
plenty of space to play croquet or football!
The large well equiped kitchen with aga, steam oven, electric oven, two fridges and more!
The large inglenook fireplace with cosy woodburner in the drawing room
the elegant dining room
The TV room
The master bedroom with ensuite
One of the other large ensuite bedrooms with king size bed
The downstairs twin room with ensuite
One of the twin rooms
another of the twin rooms
Pretty in Pink - one of the large twin rooms
The downstairs ensuite
the ensuite to the master
Whitelady Waterfall at the bottom of the garden in National Trust's Lydford Gorge
Dartmoor a walkers or riders paradise
Brentor church perch on the tor
Dartmoor pony at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahxcoo...
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My 50th Birthday weekend away”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well, where do I start? If I could relive my weekend at Whitelady House, I'd do it in a heartbeat! 11 of us descended on the Friday & left on the Monday. I wisely chose the 'ski chalet' option as I wanted all my girlfriends to have the weekend off from anything 'domestic'. I had no idea how superb Carol's catering was going to be .... oh my, she is an excellent cook, not too fancy just very tasty & more than enough food to satisfy the biggest appetite! We relaxed, partied, watched movies, sang & enjoyed the hot tub. This is a house to enjoy with maximum occupancy, as it has a lovely cozy feel even though a big house. I'm sure the AGA has a part to play in as it's so inviting to stand in front of. The island in the kitchen was the perfect hub to congregate at either after Clay Pigeon Shooting &/or Horse riding on the Moor. Fresh tea/coffee & homemade cakes were the perfect substitute for lunch after a satisfying full english brekkie & saving enough room for one of Carol's 3 course suppers! If I had to nit-pic i'd probably say the showers need sorting as very weak pressure wise, but apart from that ... 10/10!!!! Better than a hotel, as more personnel & having the Whitelady Waterfall/Gorge on your doorstep is amazing. Thanks again Carol for everything you did to ensure our stay was fabulous!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchu...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and plenty of room for our 11 guests”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This a beautiful property with plenty of room for our 11 guests. Our party was of mixed ages from mid 70's down to our youngest guest aged 14 years but with the added bonus of a lovely log fire (December) the house was large enough to accommodate everyones needs. All of the rooms were well furnished and maintained, good quality equipment provided i.e. bedding, towels etc. Some of our guests enjoyed the hot tub, also nicely presented. All in all a very enjoyable week away and would recommed this property to future guests. If there is a down side, if all of your guests are adults, three bedrooms share one bathroom. This is probably not much of a problem if some of your guests are children as they can easily share with parents, but 6 adults takes organisation to get a turn in the bathroom. The up side however, is that there is an additional downstairs toilet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, the house indeed has large rooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia R
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded expectations, a wonderful luxurious venue”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's 80th Birthday, with family consisting of 7 adults, young people 10 & 12, a 3 yr old and a baby. His son flew over from Kuwait. We all had a wonderful weekend. The accommodation is so well furnished and furbished, really luxurious. Young and old enjoyed the hot tub, and the table tennis table.
The owner welcomed us warmly on Friday afternoon, and left us with some great flapjacks & brownies.
Lovely location by Lydford Gorge. It was a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful dining table
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you so glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations at Whitelady House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue932015
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic Christmas week”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just back from the best Christmas week at White Lady House. The house itself is fantastic - one of those times when you arrive somewhere and it's much much better than you could have hoped. The rooms are all a lot larger than they appear in photos and there isn't a single "duff" bedroom (important when most of the party are adults). The kitchen is huge and happily accommodates many over-enthusiastic cooks and our party of 10 easily gathered in whichever of the sitting rooms we chose. The owner was a joy to deal with - prompt, efficient and always helpful. The location is great and we definitely intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, comfy beds, hot tub, the list could be endless
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kv1500
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reunited for an early family Christmas”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Whitelady's offered us the perfect location for the Devon and Cornish contingents of our family. Great pub a short drive away. Lovely walks to the falls and moors. The two sitting rooms were perfect: one for children and the other for adults! Everything was considered. The house was very comfortable and warm despite the dismal weather outside. No skimping on any areas, e.g. ample supply of logs, welcome flapjacks, dressing gowns and towels. Wifi limited to just one room. Hot tub much appreciated. All in all a fantastic stay. We all wished that we could stay longer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing