We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Reunited for an early family Christmas”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitelady House

Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Massive of room for entertaining! The drawing room overlooking the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Massive of room for entertaining!
The drawing room overlooking the garden
The expanse of Dartmoor 500 yds from your front door
The front aspect of the house
Relax in the hot tub after a day out on the moors
plenty of space to play croquet or football!
The large well equiped kitchen with aga, steam oven, electric oven, two fridges and more!
The large inglenook fireplace with cosy woodburner in the drawing room
the elegant dining room
The TV room
The master bedroom with ensuite
One of the other large ensuite bedrooms with king size bed
The downstairs twin room with ensuite
One of the twin rooms
another of the twin rooms
Pretty in Pink - one of the large twin rooms
The downstairs ensuite
the ensuite to the master
Whitelady Waterfall at the bottom of the garden in National Trust's Lydford Gorge
Dartmoor a walkers or riders paradise
Brentor church perch on the tor
Dartmoor pony at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kv1500
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reunited for an early family Christmas”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Whitelady's offered us the perfect location for the Devon and Cornish contingents of our family. Great pub a short drive away. Lovely walks to the falls and moors. The two sitting rooms were perfect: one for children and the other for adults! Everything was considered. The house was very comfortable and warm despite the dismal weather outside. No skimping on any areas, e.g. ample supply of logs, welcome flapjacks, dressing gowns and towels. Wifi limited to just one room. Hot tub much appreciated. All in all a fantastic stay. We all wished that we could stay longer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missposyf...
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptionally comfortable stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed at Whitelady house back in November with my family to celebrate my fathers 70th birthday. He had had a particularly bad year with health complaints so we wanted to throw him a really good surprise birthday weekend. It couldn't have been more successful. Everything from booking the property to checking out on the last day was seamless and perfectly organised. The house itself exceptionally comfortable, clean and beautifully presented. A real treat to stay here for the weekend. We ordered some food for the weekend too which was delicious, particularly the lemon meringue pie! Carol so kindly left us some delicious flap jacks and a pot of tea for when we arrived as well which I thought was a really lovely touch .
I can't fault Whitelady house in anyway. It really was the perfect weekend and I can highly recommend it. I'll most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne C
Maidenhead
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whitelady house,luxury accommodation at lyford gorge dartmoor”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to a fabulous greeting by Carol who showed us around the delightful whitelady house and homemade cakes! We are a group who annually holiday together and whitelady house not only measured up to passed trips to luxury houses but surpassed all expectations.
We walked from the house to whitelady waterfall in the gorge and were all wowed by its majesty. Took a trip into Tavistock, a ten minute drive away, and enjoyed the moors. The house had a splendid kitchen with enough space for all to enjoy, a lovely hottub, a few steps from the frenchdoors outside the downstairs twin bedroom and even table tennis in the barn opposite. The house deserves five stars for luxury and comfort and we promise to be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I have just had 3 amazing days at Whitelady House, to celebrate my Birthday. The house is beautiful, clean and has a lovely homely feel. All my guest loved it and on my Birthday Harriet cooked., served and cleared up it was fantastic It enable me too just relax and enjoy my evening!! Hot tub was another luxury treat to star gaze!!! Great location just walked out the door to Lydford Gorge which is worth seeing, I would love to return one day to explore more off Dartmoor .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2014
Glad your special Birthday w'end was such a success, we think Whitelady House is a great place to celebrate a special birthday too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cstamm
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday home!”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had an extended family holiday (8 of us) with 2 dogs in tow, at Whitelady House and it couldn't get any better....beautiful and very well equipped house; plenty of room for everyone. Country house luxury accommodation, good comfy beds, spotlessly clean everywhere and big fluffy bath towels on heated rails.......bliss!
Carol, the owner met us on arrival and showed us where everything was, how everything worked and generally made us feel very welcome. She arranged catering for us which included a fantastic 3-course dinner, cooked and served by Harriett from Bootoagoose http://www.bootoagoose.net/private-chef who's team of helpers then cleared everything away.

The location of Whitelady House and easy access to a Lydford Gorge is just lovely; we, and the dogs had a great time walking there and up on the moor. Local pubs are good and it's also worth a drive across the moors to Widecombe for a wonderful pub lunch at The Rugglestone http://www.rugglestoneinn.co.uk

Our week at Lydford just flew by and we all would happily have stayed longer! Whitelady House is an absolute stunner and makes for really active or really relaxing holiday.......what more could anyone want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury and cleanliness
Liked least: Location (the gorge)makes Internet access difficult
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 424
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing