We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Better than expected.

I didn't know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. I thought it would be mainly of... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
fairytre
Walking in the past...

Everything is extremely interesting! All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly! The museum... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Alessandro M
via mobile
Read all 2,008 reviews
  
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveller rating
1,412
489
76
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
489
76
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concorde experience motor racing wellington bomber loch ness napier railton car rides hill climb aviation history banked circuit concorde simulator harrier jump jet vintage cars barnes wallis stratosphere chamber on display red arrows mercedes benz world
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had been meaning to visit this museum for a fair few years. In some respects I’m glad I’d left it until now to see the new Big exhibition space now housing the recovered Wellington bomber which is a sight to behold in itself.
What can I say about this place. It houses a wide variety of exhibits which will appeal to different people in different ways given its varied collections of bikes, motorbikes, F1 cars, other racing cars and aircraft which all, or mostly have a connection with the Brooklands site over the years.
Probably the one biggest surprise is the wonderful London Bus Museum on the same site. It has a wonderful collection of over 20 London buses, almost all of which are in immaculate condition with one obvious exception that depicts the bombings in London during WWII... I understand that most of the buses are also in running condition.

With regards to the outside aircraft exhibits, I am inclined to agree with at least one other reviewer on here about the state of the outside exhibits. It almost does look like a plane graveyard rather than an exhibition space. A great shame that the years are taking their toll on these wonderful machines, with all the care and attention going on the Concorde exhibit.

A historical site in many ways which is probably not appreciated by everyone who visits as a lot of it is not immediately obvious, but all in all, an amazing day out for those with wide historical transport interests.

A small word or two about the volunteers too. Knowledgeable and very easy to chat too. A credit to the museum.

The were only 2 downsides to the day. One was the weather when it rained all day, so moving between exhibits was always going to be a very wet affair, and the Sunbeam Cafe, which is covered separately under its own Tripadvisor listing.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank stevensX236NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I visited this place again after a gap of about 4 years and found it to be much improved.
Lots of activities for kids especially in the Aircraft Factory, but to the detriment of losing all those cabinets stuffed with all the smaller displays & little trinkets etc.
Ticketing system for visiting Concord could be improved, but that may be due to not having enough 'qualified' volunteer staff to show people around? The Sultan of Oman's VC10 was very interesting for me as I remember seeing it flying when I worked in Oman in the late 70's.
All in all a great trip and will visit again.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A really, really interesting, educational, enjoyable and memorable day out. A visit to Brooklands has been on my husband’s Bucket List for many years and he certainly wasn’t disappointed. Even better, neither was I.

From the moment we checked in at reception, all the full-time staff and many volunteers that we encountered were all friendly, enthusiastic and anxious to help. The gentleman on reception pointed out the main points of interest and as a result we headed for the Concorde Experience ticket office. OK, it costs £5.00 each extra, but we felt that it was well worth every penny. Our knowledgeable guide showed us round the outside of the aircraft before we boarded – through the baggage entrance! This particular Concorde, although in British Airways livery was a pre-production prototype that never entered commercial service, but there are a number of seats where we sat and enjoyed a short “simulated” flight. We exited through the normal passenger entrance, but had chance to look at the flight deck on the way out. The final part of the experience is to the Concorde simulator where we were treated to a take off and landing at Heathrow.

Whilst waiting for the tour to commence we popped into the Vimy Pavilion which houses the replica Vickers Vimy in which Alcock and Brown made the first ever trans-Atlantic flight. Comparing the Vimy with Concorde illustrates how dramatically aviation technology advanced over a relatively short period of time.

The museum has three different trails, the Motoring Village, the old Racetrack and Aircraft and Aviation elements of which can be mixed and matched.

After Concorde we headed for the old Clubhouse and the Sunbeam Café for a lunchtime cuppa and a cake. From here we visited the amazing Barnes Wallis Statosphere Chamber. Quite honestly words cannot describe this; it has to be seen to be believed.

We decided to spend the rest afternoon looking at the historic aircraft, but en route we looked at the wonderful display of historic cars in the old sheds.

My first ever flight was on a VC10, so we began by visiting the display in the fuselage of the BOAC “Victor Mike.” From here we headed straight to the museum’s other VC10, formerly the Sultan of Oman’s personal aircraft.

Be aware that a visit does involve a lot of walking which proved to be a little too much for both of us. It was a super day out and one which we will always remember for all the right reasons and the weather behaved itself, but I certainly wouldn’t recommend visiting on a rainy day without brollies and waterproofs.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Steveanne-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Thousands of minis at the iconic Brooklands. Very impressed with the Marshalling and amenities during the day. Thought the tea (in a cardboard cup) was expensive but overall very good. Highlight of the day "a flight" on Concorde. Exceptional value at £5, superb tour and virtual flight.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank HampshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Very disappointed to have to pay an extra £5 per person to enter Concorde. Surely no need for this to walk through the aircraft!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooklandsMuseum, General Manager at Brooklands Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for visiting recently and for writing a review but we were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed that there is an extra charge to go on Concorde. Rather than just a walk through the aircraft, we offer the option of the half-hour supersonic virtual ‘flight’ Experience with a guided tour on Concorde rather than building this into the admission price, so visitors have the choice to take it or not. This also allows us to manage the tours during busier times and use the income to keep the aircraft clean and regularly maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews