We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view, overpriced hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely view, overpriced hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Spent a one night stay in this hotel, lovely views over the sea but the hotel needs some serious money spent on it. The decor was very tired, and the bathroom was probably the nastiest I have ever stayed in. The towel rail was boiling hot and the only thing you could hold onto when you got out of the bath, the sink was horribly cracked and dirty and I actually felt muckier after I had used the facilities that I had when I went in there.The television did not work, the paintwork was pretty dirty and the bed sank in the middle.The food was applling, I refused to pay for the light dinner I had, the breakfast only just adequate. Compared to the Ardington which was the same price, but full, this was very poor value for money.Having said all this, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, but they should not have to defend the hotels shortcomings!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, assistant manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We thank you for your comments on our staff we strive in the knowledge that are staff are always helpful and polite. We would like to look in to the room you stayed in with more details as we know some of our rooms still need decorating, also what food was ordered as we have many comments on our food being good and good value for money so i would like to take some time to see what happened with your meal, please email some more details to me at courtney@kingswayhotel-worthing.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    32
    53
    38
    48
See reviews for
30
66
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

If this had been £50/70 for the double I would have voted it higher - as it would have matched the experience. The pluses - The staff were friendly and helpful, the room clean and it was a great location. There was parking but only if you get there early as there are about 5 spaces. Otherwise you have to park in the street - not a problem except you can't buy a ticket until the morning.. so an early rise was required. The room was large and airy but had definately seen better days. the carpet was threadbare and the window was broken open. The shower was also disappointing. There was broken biscuits and only 2 milks - not a problem but they charge if you want more! Also no wifi though there was a leaflet thing saying there was. I wouldn't have minded all of this if I hadn't paid nearly £100 on the room. The dining room was well decorated but breakfast was not included in the room and was another tenner - and was not £10 worth. So all in all - it was ok but not value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, assistant manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We thank you for your comments and take all this on board we are trying to get planning from the local council to have some windows replaced but are having some trouble as it is a grade 2 listed building in a conservation area being a commercial property and not residential.We hold a standard room rate that is within a price range for the facilities and location of the hotel we have free WIFI in all public ground floor areas in the hotel and t-mobile supply a WIFI to the guest rooms at a daily charge.
We would ask if you could email courtney@kingswayhotel-worthing.co.uk with your your room number so we can look in this further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at the Kingsway in Worthing as an alternative to using the Travelodge which is a few minutes walk away. As sparse as the Travelodge is, I will be returning there if I need to visit Worthing again and I don't have the budget to stay the Ardington Hotel (rightly the #1 hotel for Worthing)

The room I stayed in was dingy and required refurbishment. This would have been acceptable in a low-value B&B but visitors at the Kingsway are expected to pay higher prices for the prime location (and it is a good spot for the beach and town centre). Breakfast was included but seemed to consist of cheap ingredients - local cash n' carry rather than local produce, I expect.

As I always seem to find with poorer hotels, the staff usually more than make up for the tired decor. Reception was always polite and attentive and the restaurant staff were also great - it's just a shame they don't have the raw materials to work with.

In summary - stay here if you get a good deal but there are much better hotels around within walking distance at the same price point.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichH6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at the Kingsway with my daughter a weekend of shopping and relaxation. The staff were lovely, especially Courtney and Alex who were so helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious, very clean with comforable beds and a fabulous view. I recommend paying a little extra for the sea view. The rooms wre a little tired but we were not expecting the Ritz as I think some other reviewers are!, however they were clean, and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant which has been refurbished and looks great. The food was just what we wanted.
The location of the hotel is perfect especially when the sun is shining as it was last weekend, and you can sit outside. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.
From Maria and Victoria

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, Manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
We thank you kindly for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and continue to do improvements around the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Very friendly staff on arrival and our room was lovely , bright and very clean and wonderful sea-view. We did'nt use the restaurant or the bar and breakfast prices seemed rather high but we wil definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.2 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 km away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.8 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel

Property: Kingsway Hotel
Address: 117 Marine Parade, Worthing BN11 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price range (per night): $149 - $158
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the promenade in the popular seaside resort of Worthing, West Sussex, The Kingsway Hotel and Kingsway Townhouse, with a total of 36 rooms (all en-suite), offer you a friendly service, a welcoming atmosphere and excellent amenities.Our central location allows easy access to Worthing’s entertainment facilities, shopping area and beautiful gardens. We are independently owned and recent refurbishments ensure that all guest rooms, as well as the public rooms, are furnished, decorated and equipped to a high standard.With free parking, a restaurant and bar, this peaceful Edwardian hotel is beside the sea. You can smell the fresh, salty air even on a calm day.Our restaurant is on the ground floor and has a A la Carte menu. The sea-facing bar has a large selection of dishes available day, with a selection of locally caught fish among them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Worthing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing