We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear - only the service and good breakfast saved it”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Looks great from the outside but the building and the rooms are terribly shabby. Only the nice staff and the good breakfast redeemed it.

Our room was so dark because of the ivy that was not only growing outside but had found its way through the window making it impossible to close it! The extractor from the kitchen was close by outside and sounded like a jet engine.

As I say, lovely staff but the owners really need to invest some money in the place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

A lovely old coaching type inn with quirky rooms but all mod cons. Staff were lovely especially Andrew who sorted out all our problems. Good selection of drinks. Excellent cooked breakfast. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shropshirejourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We like super king beds, room 18 had one plus an altitude problem! It was so high and made life difficult to sit on it and put one's socks on! Very comfortable however. Sadly the wash basin stopper thief had been before us!
Overall this old hotel was a little older than before and in some places it showed.
The staff were very hard working one had only started that day and the Manager(?) who runs two other hotels in the Greene King Brewing Group was into his 5th. day in Banbury.
We chose a larger room(18) which included breakfasts for a total of £87.50. One criticism was the door was quite difficult to open and could do with being looked at.
Breakfast was very good and the hard working staff coped well. A nice friendly attitude throughout was plain to see. The wedding they were preparing for later in the day looked well laid out although I overheard some outside help/company had let them down their problems had been overcome.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a family wedding with our baby and toddler. Firstly shocking they booked a party the night before so they couldn't set up until morning of the wedding. We got to the hotel after the ceremony with all our bags and children for there to be no parking and got told we would have to pay for parking out the front!! We had a look in the room wasn't happy firstly the window wouldn't close so my two babies had to be wrapped up in there blankets as it was so cold! Was only provided one quilt aswell! There was broken wood around the toilet. Not safe for toddlers. The cleaner needs to be told she's not doing a great job, dusty everywhere! Shower curtain needs changed as so discoloured and dirty! Breakfast the next day took two hours which then my step mother in laws order was completely wrong! There was only one girl working with a lot of people waiting to be served. Wouldn't recommend staying, needs a serious makeover!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Butler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Stayed here for a wedding reception in the outdoor (annexed) marquee. Set-up for wedding reception was almost an issue as they had accidentally booked a birthday party for the evening before, in spite of the venue having being reserved for ages. Food for the reception itself was first rate and staff were friendly and helpful, though there didn't seem to be enough of them and they looked exhausted. Breakfast the following morning (which was also really nice) mostly had one lady taking the orders and the table service for quite a large number of people. She was evidently an agency worker. Room: our room had no heating (apparently not turned on yet but no additional quilts or blankets evident) and no hot water (not working but they will look into it). Other party members lacked tea and coffee trays and another had windows that wouldn't close properly and was therefore quite cool! Lastly, this venue was in part chosen for disabled access. Such access was very limited with numerous steps not easily navigable for a motorised sit on scooter type vehicle. Regardless, thank you to the lovely staff.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Bill_Rincewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.6 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.7 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
246 reviews
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: $102 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing