We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of Sheesh Mahal

Sheesh Mahal
Ranked #28 of 219 Restaurants in Banbury
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Sheesh Mahal is an award-winning Indian restaurant set in the heart of Banbury, Oxfordshire.Offering a memorable and sophisticated dining experience, our chefs are inspired by traditional Indian recipes dating back centuries. We pride ourselves on creating dishes to tempt and reward the taste buds.Led by proprietor Mohammad Khalid, our mission is to provide you with an experience that makes a meal in the Sheesh Mahal an extraordinarily special occasion.Using only the freshest and most authentic ingredients, each meal is an individual work of gastronomic art, capturing the wonderfully vibrant and exquisite flavours of Asia.There is ample free parking available for Sheesh Mahal customers at the back of the restaurant (Crouch Street).
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Fancied a curry out tonight and where better than The Sheesh Mahal.
I ordered the chicken vindaloo as I like them hot.
It was hot but not so you couldn't taste all the amazing flavours
The meat was so succulent and tender and just
melted in the mouth, I had this with the pilau rice which I'm sure was cooked in saffron infused water!!
Friendly quick service, and the Tandoori Chicken starter was excellent.
Can't wait to visit there again soon mmmm!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank GaryJSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

My wife and I come here almost weekly and on each occasion we are not disappointed. The service is impeccable and the food is excellent. We are made to feel at home and our meal is very reasonably priced. Before we had even finished our first meal we were planning the next time we would eat here which has been consistently once a week for the last year.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank anchorbaydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had our evening meal at the Sheesh Mahal yesterday and were very happy with the quality of our experience as always.

We appreciate that there have been difficult times here recently with regards to hygiene standards in the kitchen but we are very confident that whatever the past issues were, they have all been resolved.

Mr. Khalid has been operating this restaurant for the last 35 years, leading the way with good, honest, original recipes that never fail to hit the mark. All restaurant owners are only as good as their staff and unfortunately Mr. Khalid has experienced some undesirables.

Never mind, onwards and upwards now with excellence for the customer returning as top priority.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank bramwells2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Yes, we saw the reports in the papers about the prosecution at Banbury Magistrates court but, as we have been eating here for years and never had any problems, decided to go and eat anyway. My wife had the Fish Dhaba with vegetable pilau rice. I had a poppadom to start followed by Balti Saag Paneer with a nan bread and side of Bengan Bhaji Both meals were delicious as always. And the Cobra was good and cold!
Mr Khalid talked to us.He is clearly devastated by the prosecution which has resulted from one inspection is 2016 and another in the middle of last year. He assures us changes were made immediately following both inspections, including changing the chef, more training for the staff and supervision.
So we will continue to use the Sheesh Mahal and recommend it as we are confident that all is now good.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RatleyRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The Oxford Mail news website informs us this restaurant was twice inspected and
on 30/03/18 a story appears on their website featuring this restaurant.
"Fined 18,000 at Oxford Court for many food hygiene infringments and a rat infestation".
This was very shocking to discover after having Poppadoms and Rice.
Before this seemed all right,Would not eat there again as have no confidence
the problems will be satisfactorily remedied

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank lazenlondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheesh Mahal also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Sheesh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing