We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
49
17
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town centre great night sleep yogurt would definitely stay here again excellent breakfast booked rooms cooked breakfast one night front of the house breakfast room off road parking comfortable beds free wifi full english breakfast excellent location stayed nights great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights to attend an event nearby and it was great. We were in the front room downstairs across the passage from the breakfast room, so it was very handy, not having stairs to climb. Small room, but more than adequate for our needs, with the facility to make hot drinks and a smart modern shower room en suite.

Breakfast was terrific, selection of cereals with yogurt in the fridge, followed by a full plateful and lots of toast.

Parking fine in front of the property, and only a short drive into town.

Debbie is an attentive host and we were well pleased we chose her guest house for our visit to Banbury.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank valeriew740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W, Owner at Avonlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you Valerie for your lovely review. It is always great to get feedback and to know that my Guests have enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Booked this guest house as we had a family wedding in Banbury. It was the perfect location for the registry office and the reception. The rooms we had was two twins which were faultless
Clean and tidy.breakfast was a traditional English the owner was friendly and very helpful. We would stay again .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank tommo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian Y, Owner at Avonlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us, and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

An excellent location just a short walk from the town centre, with car parking. Very good all-round guest house with a friendly welcome from the proprietors. Breakfast couldn't be faulted. Only complaint was that room was a little cramped and didn't have a desk area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterE3349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W, Owner at Avonlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you Peter for your lovely review. It is always good to get feedback from my Guests. Unfortunately you were in the only room that hasn't got a desk area so sorry about that. Thanks again and hope to see you sometime in the future. Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We opted for Avonlea by location and we were not disappointed - ideally situated a short easy flat walk into Stratford centre and Shakespeare attractions via a footbridge across the picturesque River Avon. We stayed 3 nights in a quiet, spotlessly clean 1st floor rear room with a wonderful comfy 6 foot bed with crisp white sheets and loads of pillows (just be mindful of the step down into the room). The ensuite shower had copious shower gels, shampoos etc. We received a warm, friendly, helpful welcome from Clare and enjoyed the breakfasts, freshly cooked by Rob.Off road parking is available - few spaces at front and rear. Very good choice of eating places within short walking distance - recommend Loxleys (many restaurants do pre-theatre special menus). Lovely circular walk along the river and many National Trust places within short driving distance.

Room Tip: Room1 ground floor, Room2 - 1st floor quiet rear, 6ft bed or twin
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Booked this very last minute from an abundance of choice in Banbury and I am very glad I did. Debbie was very accommodating and welcoming and the house felt good as you went in. You could smell clean!! Our room was absolutely spotless with an enormous and very comfirtable bed, the sheets and towels were of excellent quality and lovely and fresh. En-suite had all it needed to have and you could have eaten off any of the surfaces. Huge choice for breakfast - everything was of a high quality, beautifully cooked and served with a smile - nobody would leave here hungry! 2 minute walk to nearest pub, 5 more minutes into town. My only comment would be that if I stayed longer a bigger room and bigger bathroom might be helpful. I would definitely stay here again should I need a bed in Banbury. Thanks Debbie.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be better if you like the windows open at night.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cullies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W, Owner at Avonlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review. It is always good to hear that what I do is appreciated and on the right track. Hope to see you again at some point in the future. Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews