We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning House
Double Bedroom Stunning Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
52 reviews
Stunning House
Double Bedroom
Stunning Bedroom
Stunning Views
Kitchen Breakfast Room
Indoor Pool
Kitchen
Games Room
Hours Of Fun!
Roll Top Bath
Showeroom
Twin Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Triple Room
Triple Room
The House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suff0lkdw...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Lovely scenery. We stayed here as part of a group of old friends, and that made it all fun. The site managers did their best and were conscientious.
The property was in need of renovating by the owners, though. The decorations and nick nacs around were very much "on trend" but the boiler was suspect in Badgers Wood where we were. The flooring was obviously reclaimed from a school gymnasium, I spotted the markings in a cupboard, which is very much "on trend" - but it was inexpertly laid. That means it will give trouble soon: getting in a craftsman to lay it would have given the impression that this was a good property, more Waitrose than Tesco!! The shower we used was minute, hard to turn round in. The views from the kitchen were lovely, but the spiral staircase to get upstairs in Badgers was not for the fainthearted. Disabled access in all parts looked to be non-exisistent.
In the kitchen of main house, The Manor, the furniture was distressed to the point of needing hospital treatment. The floor was hard for the housekeeper to keep clean with the small and cheap steam mop provided. My own Polti steamer has the oomph that floor needed: ingrained dirt in the surface of the tiles needed to be removed, but not with the equipment provided.
The pool looked lovely but the sandstone surround needed treating to stop it shedding sand;we were told that the owners were refusing to seal it.
Overall, the site has a great deal of potential, but the state of the gardens, the approach to the pool and the general impression that cost cutting on essentials was rife but fashionable superficialities, were also rife, let it down. It needs a proper overhaul. The impression is that the owners are seeking maximum profit for minimum outlay and do not understand the basics of owning holiday lets. We have tenants and try to maintain their property correctly. I don't think that people accept make do and mend on their weekends away now and suggest the owners try to come up to the standard Derbyshire deserves.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnTo...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not 4 star and a dirty pool”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
7
people found this review helpful

Communicating with these people after you have booked is a nightmare. The owners leave the new housekeepers to get on with it and there seems to be no quality checks. We are taking this further as the pool was not fit for purpose, log fire does not exist, (decorative purposes only) poor quality cutlery and kitchen. Forget continuous hot water, it does not exist and the showers are pathetic. Pillows poor quality and bedding flat! not 4 Stars at all!!! I Would rate this accommodation at 3 Stars.
But check about the condition of the pool before you book!
I have given Ben I Cleo the opportunity to put things right by way of some compensation but seem to be getting no=where. so upset I am taking it to Court

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelaand...
morpeth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just had a lovely two night break staying in one of the cottages: Robin's Nest.
Having stayed in Derbyshire a number of times previously in various B and B's this has definitely been our most pleasant stay. The stunning, peaceful location with the most fantastic views - even at the beginning of February made this trip really enjoyable.
Although high up in the peaks it is so conveniently situated between Buxton and Bakewell.
We loved the fact that we were completely in our own accommodation and were really quite unaware of there being any other visitors on the site.
The cottage was spotlessly clean, nice new bed linen and so lovely and warm. The views out of every window, especially the living/kitchen area which was upstairs were unbelievable.
We were lucky with the weather, but in the event of pouring rain which we have often experienced when visiting this area, there is plenty to do on site, with the games room and swimming pool.
This is a superb place for families and people who love the outdoors - you can literally begin your walk or cycle from your front door!
There is plenty of private parking which has often been an issue for us elsewhere.
The Manor House looked fantastic and must be great for larger numbers.
We think the best things about this place are the location and the absolute freedom that it gives you.
We were met by the owners on arrival who checked that everything was fine for us and just to ask if there was anything we needed.
The local pub in Moneyash is excellent. Lovely food, atmosphere and cosy fire. Well worth a visit!
A really lovely spot - must be absolutely fantastic in the summer. Must return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotte1974
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“House and grounds need updating and communication is poor”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We first stayed at this complex a few years ago and enjoyed our stay but when we returned in September 2016 we unfortunately had a different experience. We hired this house as a venue for a 70th birthday celebration for our large extended family of 10 adults and 10 children, 5 different families. Cleo was helpful and responsive when we booked, although I was surprised to be asked for £10 each for the hire of a high chair or travel cot and charged an extra £75 'insurance' for a newborn considering the cost of the weekend. We were then contacted by email the Thursday evening before we were due to arrive, to say that the swimming pool would be unavailable during our visit as it was broken (although the part was actually there to mend it) and there was also a helicopter open day at the property on the Sunday meaning it was open to the general public as they were offering helicopter rides (every half an hour) and the housekeeper was also away on general leave. We were not informed of this at any point of our booking. So we were left with 10 very disappointed children and no help or arrangements to swim elsewhere.
The house itself is very tired, broken crockery, broken tiles in the bathrooms, and mouldy walls, it really needs a facelift. The grounds are unsuitable for young children, with broken walls and nettles, it's a real shame as the grounds were lovely the last time we stayed.
One of our party was 8 months pregnant when we stayed and found the smell of heating oil in the bedroom she stayed in so strong that she ended up leaving the room in the middle of the night and sleeping downstairs, to be fair when we complained the owners arranged for one of the other houses to be made available to us but it didn't make for a relaxed weekend!
When we arrived home I emailed to make my disappointment clear but although I contacted the owners a total of 5 times and also rang, I got absolutely no answer or apology. Unfortunately we will not be returning for future family celebrations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freters19...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not waste your hard earned money here!”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
7
people found this review helpful

We as a family had previously stayed here for a family occasion several years ago, and had a great time, and so thought what better place to celebrate another family occasion.
We should have left the previous memories where they were, and not returned.
Where do I start. Probably with the mail, late the night before we were due to arrive, telling us the pool was broken, and that there was a helicopter event on the site on the Sunday of our stay.
This immediately disappointed all the grandchildren, and annoyed all the adults, as the pool was a massive incentive to book the accommodation, and to find out the night before we couldn't get to use it was very frustrating to say the least!
Anyway, on arriving at the property, we were met by a young girl who again let us know about the pool,and the helicopter event,(more on that later), and the poor girl, got the brunt of our frustration, so we weren't even greateed by the owners, they were on holiday, no doubt with a pool!
We booked the main house, and a smaller cottage due to the size of our party. The main house is far from luxurious, unless of course you consider the below luxurious: a well used kitchen, with unit doors, and drawer fronts hanging off, the smell of Aga paraffin throughout the house, so strong in one bedroom, we couldn't use, and had to keep door locked all weekend, cracked tiles in bathrooms and kitchen, mouldy, and flakey paint peeling off the walls, cobwebs in corners, unstable toilets, tired, and worn kitchen furniture, and sofas, and a water/toilet system that seems to rumble, and groan every time you flushed. The games room was very worn as well, so if you consider this luxury, book away!
So, the Sunday, the helicopters, ...........you know in the Vietnam movies, when you saw the helicopters, coming and going every few minutes in the back ground of every shot, well, this was very much like that, not to add random members of the public walking through the 'private property' with their dogs, and generally having a nose around.
As mentioned earlier, we booked the property for the location, pool, and the fun we had previously, yes it was a xpensive, but it had everything we wanted, after turning up, this property turned out to be a very expensive, rundown mistake.
We obviously raised our disappointment with the owners, the house keepers, anyone we could, on numerous occasions, and have heard nothing back from them, which is surprising, as they were all very vocal before we arrived, and before we had paid our money, we had no problem getting hold of someone then, and now silence, which feels like the last and final kick in the teeth. Not th customer service I would like sect from any rental.
We were all as a family looking forward to celebrating a weekend away for a special occasion, and it's such a a shame the property ruined that occasion.
I would not recommend this property to anyone, which is a shame.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Read above!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing