We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location, very comfortable and has...”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning House
Double Bedroom Stunning Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
46 reviews
Stunning House
Double Bedroom
Stunning Bedroom
Stunning Views
Kitchen Breakfast Room
Indoor Pool
Kitchen
Games Room
Hours Of Fun!
Roll Top Bath
Showeroom
Twin Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Triple Room
Triple Room
The House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
989joy
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location, very comfortable and has everything you need for a short or extended stay. Great!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We went as a large family for a weekend and we were all thoroughly entertained. The kids loved the swimming pool and the adults had a night reliving our student days in the games room. The house was very comfortable and because the grounds had a helicopter weekend we got to go up for free which was a brilliant surprise!!! Would definitely recommend. Had everything we needed. Only thing I could say that could improve our experience would be to have two pillows to sleep but that is being picky. Loved it and great location.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
363sue
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfy, centrally located accommodation for a large family visit.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

To celebrate our Golden Wedding we stayed in The Manor House, Moor Grange Farm for a week with 12 members of the family coming from Scotland, the West Country and the South East. The accommodation was great, very comfy, house was lovely and warm which helped in the "all the seasons in one day"weather. The family loved the swimming pool for which you could book a two hour session each day, thus giving privacy to the family group. The games room was a great success. The location was great for walkers or visiting Buxton or Bakewell. To celebrate the occasion we ha booked an outdoor photo shoot in the lovely Pavillion Gardens in Buxton with Autumn Stone Photography who have produced a superb set of lovely, happy, fun, family photos, despite the overcast day. The layout of the house worked really well with the large family - with young cousins loving the opportunity to meet up again. Jon, the manager and Brenda, the housekeeper were very helpful and friendly and always available to help out or answer questions. We would certainly consider a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and lovely views
Liked least: Lack of DVD player for films. We took our own.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelhea...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Moor Grange Farm with a family group of 11 over Easter 2016 and had an extremely enjoyable time. Despite the freezing conditions outside the property was warm through out.

Although the best bar and restaurant locally was about a mile and a half away my 90 year old mother made the walk fairly comfortably in almost freezing temperatures.

This property is very well furnished and maintained and we were able quite easily to cater for ourselves most of the time. Many thanks go to the terrific staff there John and Brenda who made sure everything was perfect and could not do enough to make our time there very memorable. John even worked late into the night on our first night there to fix a problem with the swimming pool so that it was fully functional the next day.

Given the chance I would go back on a regular basis but living abroad makes that very difficult. Certainly well visit again, maybe in the summer next time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great place to relax
Liked least: The cold weather in March
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely setting, high up on the moors with great views. A well presented complex comprising a 400 year old farm house and outlying buildings converted to holiday lets and including a pool and games room.
We were greeted by the site manager and housekeeper on arrival who explained the how the facilities worked, they were both very approachable, always available for a chat and able to advise on the local amenities
The building was well presented, very clean and tidy and included a country kitchen complete with Aga. The house comfortable accommodates 12 and was great for a stay with our extended family of 4 generations.

We liked
Location, high on the moors but only 2 miles to a village pub (nice walk) and easy access by car to all of the peak district location (eg Buxton/Bakewell/Matlock)
Facilities, pool and games room

We had a fantastic holiday and would return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ease of access to the national park
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful position, facilities not up to standard”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Great position, tremendous views, but let down for us by 5 major flaws:
1. swimming pool unavailable because repairs needed -- the pool was a strong reason for choosing this property
2. log-burner unavailable for safety reasons
3. Aga was meant to supply hot water to 2 bedrooms and kitchen but the showers were cold from the start in that part of the house
4. two kitchen drawer-fronts hanging off, and general level of equipment not commensurate with price or with other properties we have rented
5. our complaints were sent to the on-site caretakers Jon and Brenda, who did their best for us and who forwarded our comments to the owners, but after 2 weeks no acknowledgement, no response and no refund from the owners -- very disappointing.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 632
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing