We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning House
Double Bedroom Stunning Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
51 reviews
Stunning House
Double Bedroom
Stunning Bedroom
Stunning Views
Kitchen Breakfast Room
Indoor Pool
Kitchen
Games Room
Hours Of Fun!
Roll Top Bath
Showeroom
Twin Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Triple Room
Triple Room
The House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leigh P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely setting, high up on the moors with great views. A well presented complex comprising a 400 year old farm house and outlying buildings converted to holiday lets and including a pool and games room.
We were greeted by the site manager and housekeeper on arrival who explained the how the facilities worked, they were both very approachable, always available for a chat and able to advise on the local amenities
The building was well presented, very clean and tidy and included a country kitchen complete with Aga. The house comfortable accommodates 12 and was great for a stay with our extended family of 4 generations.

We liked
Location, high on the moors but only 2 miles to a village pub (nice walk) and easy access by car to all of the peak district location (eg Buxton/Bakewell/Matlock)
Facilities, pool and games room

We had a fantastic holiday and would return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ease of access to the national park
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful position, facilities not up to standard”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Great position, tremendous views, but let down for us by 5 major flaws:
1. swimming pool unavailable because repairs needed -- the pool was a strong reason for choosing this property
2. log-burner unavailable for safety reasons
3. Aga was meant to supply hot water to 2 bedrooms and kitchen but the showers were cold from the start in that part of the house
4. two kitchen drawer-fronts hanging off, and general level of equipment not commensurate with price or with other properties we have rented
5. our complaints were sent to the on-site caretakers Jon and Brenda, who did their best for us and who forwarded our comments to the owners, but after 2 weeks no acknowledgement, no response and no refund from the owners -- very disappointing.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyAndy
West Walton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely property let down by a few flaws”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Manor, Moor Grange Farm 22th-29th Dec. Our party consisted of 8 people ranging from 13 to 81 , with two others staying for one night.

We were impressed by the welcome given to us by site manager Jon & housekeeper Brenda. They had only recently started at Moor Grange Farm , and they are very friendly and helpful.They arranged a Carols, mincepies & mulled wine get together on Christmas Eve , inviting all on site , & we all thought it was a very nice gesture and we enjoyed it.
We had to call on Jon several times over our stay, because of various problems, & he did his best to address these, always cheerfully.

The property itself is a wonderful house which has much to commend it, but there are unfortunately some issues which were not good .

Positives include: beautiful light & spacious sitting room; all six bedrooms are spacious; large kitchen. It is a pleasantly warm property.

Things that could be improved: I would suggest that for the size of house & the number of people it can accommodate, that there should be more comfortable seating in the sitting room. There was only comfortable seating for 8, and there is room for more.
A DVD player would have been handy so we could have had option of watching film together.

In the kitchen , although there was plenty of crockery & glasses, there wasn't much variety of sizes, it was all a bit of a mismatch . For the price/quality of this property I would expect better . We had to ask Jon if he could provide 3 champagne flutes, as there were only 5, & these didn't match. The kitchen seat cushions were not very pleasant, most being dirty, stained, & even burnt.
The Aga appeared to be old & did not retain heat for effective cooking. We mostly used the electric cooker as that was good & quite a good size.
In the kitchen there was seating for 8 at the kitchen table, which was fine for us on Christmas Day . For a larger party , more people can be seated in the conservatory, but we certainly wouldn't have wanted to do that . It wasn't the most pleasant space,. I would best describe it as tatty.

Upstairs, the biggest problem and cause for dissatisfaction was that the two ensuites had only luke warm water, so no possibility for using baths or showers. This could easily be rectified in the future by having immersion heaters.
Everybody was happy with their bedrooms otherwise. I believe everyone had comfortable beds.

One of the attractions of booking this property was the availability of pool & a games room. Unfortunately, the pool was only available to us for 3 out of the 7 days, owing to electrical problems.
A point to note is that the games room is available only until 7pm owing to the need to provide peace for the holiday cottage directly above it. It might be a good thing to mention this in the property details.

The location of this property is very nice indeed. It is ideal for those who like peace & quiet & walking. Lovely views from property & you can just walk straight out , no need to take car. For shops, there is Morrisons at Buxton, approx 15 mins away, also Ashford in the Water there was an excellent general store which also sold newspapers.
We can recommend the Bulls Head at Monyash. Very friendly & excellent food.

So, overall, we really did like this property very much. I would definitely recommend it, if the water in the ensuites was hot, & the pool was fully available.

I have emailed our concerns to the owner & I am still awaiting a response, which I do hope to receive in due course.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & space. Very good size property.
Liked least: Lack of hot water in ensuites & limited availability of pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss ”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time at Moor Grange Farm where we had rented the manor and Robins nest for a long weekend with friends. The accomodation had everything we could hace needed and was perfectly spacious. The pool area was particularly clean and a perfect temperature. We will be back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elliejw20...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed here at moor grange farm and found my experience to be most pleasurable. The staff were exceptionally polite and more than willing to assist you with anything you may need. The accommodation was very tastefully decorated, and very well kept. I was also very impressed by the cleanliness of all facilities including the pool. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and will be coming back very soon. would be highly recommend Moor Grange Farm

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing