We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fantastic Cottage in a Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Twin/Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Mezzanine/attic bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Outdoor seating/bbq area
Main driveway
The view from the barn across the Moorlands.
Beautiful views from Gib Torr farm.
Beautiful Three Shires Heads - just one of the breathtaking walks on offer nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MagicOtte...
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Cottage in a Great Location”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent peaceful cottage in the heart of the Peak District. A really great location for exploring, either on foot or by car - there are walks nearby, and it's easy to get to sights such as Chatsworth, Dove Dale and the Hope Valley. The cottage was spotless and perfectly decorated, as well as being cosy and warm. We arrived late, so Lynsey had kindly lit the burners.

Although there wasn't a TV or WIFI, the big stack of board games - as well as the games room with table tennis, pool table and darts - were plenty to keep our children (12, 10, and 6) occupied for three days. It's the perfect place for getting children away from technology. One last thing - thanks to the owners for some great pub recommendations. Brilliant local food at the Lazy Trout and Knights' Table nearby. We've already booked to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
2 reviews
“Fabulous familyaccommodation”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The barnhouse was fabulously equipped and had enough of everything for twelve of us. It was immaculately clean when we arrived.We were celebrating 3 family birthdays and had taken a lot of our own food so the large fridge freezer was great.There was a good supply of fuel for the open fires with matches and kindling provided. Lynsey lit the fires for us on arrival which was great.We all had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing I didnt like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nattybard...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks again for having us. Your barn is such a great place to stay, clean, nice and big and the swing and table tennis are just so fab!
Loved it xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranQue...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb 30th Birthday location!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A group of 19 of us stayed for a 30th Birthday and everyone loved it! The rooms are quirky and spacious, the kitchen had everything needed to prepare food and drinks for all and the bbq is big enough for a proper feast. We especially enjoyed having a few drinks around the firepit in the evenings! The surrounding countryside is beautiful and The Winking Man pub is a ten minute walk away.

We had a memorable weekend and would stay here again in a flash!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect group getaway location”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Gib Tor as a group of 11 for a joint birthday celebration weekend.

The barn provided the perfect base for exploring (walking/climbing and cycling) with no need to use our cars all weekend.

It had everything we needed and plenty of space in the communal rooms for all of us, we enjoyed the swing in the living room and quirky ladder up to one of the bedrooms!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing