We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
111
78
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
78
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queens head the pub sky tv public house separate building modern accommodation the small car park huge shower local population great room secure parking didn't hear a thing major attractions great selection of drinks triple room tea and coffee great accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We needed a stopover after two days of long driving. Booked the last room at this hotel and public house. Walking into the bar one would think that you are about to cimb stairs to a small room . Out the back are several new well appointed units with everything you need. Staff are very friendly. The room was spotless. The room we had was the disabled unit so the room was extra large as was the bathroom.
The bar was just through a backdoor and the beer was excellent. Breakfast was cooked to order. The carpark was full and we parked in the back street to the rear. The street was well lit and we did not worry about the car. This place is a must to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your visit. We love to hear back from satisfied guests and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Second stay here for our small (3) walking group. Location is very central and within walking distance of all major attractions, restaurants etc. Car park, although small, is both safe and secure and fantastically managed by the staff to enable maximum usage. Rooms are spotless, with all the facilities you could ask for. Breakfast, again superb, they cook what you ask for!, from full English to poached eggs on toast. However, the greatest asset we felt were the staff. Never met a more helpful, chatty, friendly lot! Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for both your return visit and for taking the time for leave such a wonderful review. I'm delighted that everything was to your liking. Myself and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Staff were very welcoming. Parking available through back garage doors. Rooms were modern and very clean. We were not disturbed by noise from the pub. It was good to be able to have a drink in bar when we returned in the evening.
Easy to walk down to Buxton town down a steep hill. Many places to visit in area. We were busy for two days, probably could have filled another day.
A very successful family break.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I'm thrilled to hear what a great break you and your family had and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future to explore more of what Buxton has to offer.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Quiet but close to the pub so you can go for a pint before heading to your room. Could not hear the pub at all from room. My hubby went for a quick drink but the band was so good he stayed until closing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I'm delighted that you, and especially your husband, had such a brilliant visit. We regularly have live music and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here as 2 family couples whilst attending an evening at the Buxton Opera House.
The hotel/pub is conveniently situated just a few minutes walk from anywhere in Buxton town centre.
Check in was easy and we were shown to our rooms which were situated away from the pub area in the courtyard.
The rooms were perfectly adequate (although they could do with a fresh lick of paint).
They were clean, with tea/coffee facilities and a great modern bathroom (shower was excellent).
Breakfast was really good and served by a very friendly waitress.
Car parking is at the back of the hotel and is quite small but we had no problems getting there and parking at around 4:00pm.
Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank topgun1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for leaving a review of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in your clean modern rooms, and that the breakfast was really good. Hopefully you will return to both the Opera House and The Queens.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews