We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break in Buxton to celebrate my husband's birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queen's Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Staff were very welcoming. Parking available through back garage doors. Rooms were modern and very clean. We were not disturbed by noise from the pub. It was good to be able to have a drink in bar when we returned in the evening.
Easy to walk down to Buxton town down a steep hill. Many places to visit in area. We were busy for two days, probably could have filled another day.
A very successful family break.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I'm thrilled to hear what a great break you and your family had and hopefully we can welcome you back in the future to explore more of what Buxton has to offer.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Quiet but close to the pub so you can go for a pint before heading to your room. Could not hear the pub at all from room. My hubby went for a quick drink but the band was so good he stayed until closing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I'm delighted that you, and especially your husband, had such a brilliant visit. We regularly have live music and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here as 2 family couples whilst attending an evening at the Buxton Opera House.
The hotel/pub is conveniently situated just a few minutes walk from anywhere in Buxton town centre.
Check in was easy and we were shown to our rooms which were situated away from the pub area in the courtyard.
The rooms were perfectly adequate (although they could do with a fresh lick of paint).
They were clean, with tea/coffee facilities and a great modern bathroom (shower was excellent).
Breakfast was really good and served by a very friendly waitress.
Car parking is at the back of the hotel and is quite small but we had no problems getting there and parking at around 4:00pm.
Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank topgun1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for leaving a review of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in your clean modern rooms, and that the breakfast was really good. Hopefully you will return to both the Opera House and The Queens.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff all very friendly, room very clean and modern. Newly renovated in a barn conversion. Sky tv in the room always a plus for my husband. The hotel itself had a great selection of beers, plenty of seating, a live band. The breakfast in the morning was just what we needed it came with a big pot of tea. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm glad you found everything you needed and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed here last Friday night as we were meeting some friends half way. Great accommodation out the back of the pub, very modern, clean and well equipped. I don't know what it was but there was a gorgeous smell in the room. Parking was a bit tight but manageable in my car. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast the next day was excellent value for £5, couldn't fault it. The hotel was central for the town centre, bars and the indian restaurant that we had booked into. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a good review of your stay. I'm delighted to hear how much of a good time your had during your stay. Myself and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.8 km away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.7 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,234 reviews
0.5 km away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
582 reviews
0.5 km away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#34 of 39 in Buxton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Head Hotel

Address: High Street, Buxton SK17 6EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Queen's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen's Head Hotel Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing