We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
109
78
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
78
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueens headthe pubsky tvpublic houseseparate buildingmodern accommodationthe small car parkhuge showerlocal populationgreat roomsecure parkinggreat selection of drinksdidn't hear a thingmajor attractionstriple roomtea and coffeegreat accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Quiet but close to the pub so you can go for a pint before heading to your room. Could not hear the pub at all from room. My hubby went for a quick drink but the band was so good he stayed until closing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I'm delighted that you, and especially your husband, had such a brilliant visit. We regularly have live music and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed here as 2 family couples whilst attending an evening at the Buxton Opera House.
The hotel/pub is conveniently situated just a few minutes walk from anywhere in Buxton town centre.
Check in was easy and we were shown to our rooms which were situated away from the pub area in the courtyard.
The rooms were perfectly adequate (although they could do with a fresh lick of paint).
They were clean, with tea/coffee facilities and a great modern bathroom (shower was excellent).
Breakfast was really good and served by a very friendly waitress.
Car parking is at the back of the hotel and is quite small but we had no problems getting there and parking at around 4:00pm.
Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank topgun1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for leaving a review of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in your clean modern rooms, and that the breakfast was really good. Hopefully you will return to both the Opera House and The Queens.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff all very friendly, room very clean and modern. Newly renovated in a barn conversion. Sky tv in the room always a plus for my husband. The hotel itself had a great selection of beers, plenty of seating, a live band. The breakfast in the morning was just what we needed it came with a big pot of tea. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm glad you found everything you needed and we all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed here last Friday night as we were meeting some friends half way. Great accommodation out the back of the pub, very modern, clean and well equipped. I don't know what it was but there was a gorgeous smell in the room. Parking was a bit tight but manageable in my car. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast the next day was excellent value for £5, couldn't fault it. The hotel was central for the town centre, bars and the indian restaurant that we had booked into. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a good review of your stay. I'm delighted to hear how much of a good time your had during your stay. Myself and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Modern, immaculate, and pristine rooms behind a popular pub, with your own entrance door. Peaceful and supremely comfortable, with discrete and helpful housekeeping staff making sure you have what you need. Good television and a/c units. Breakfasts, served in the pub, are perfectly cooked to order at a pre-arranged time, and special diets are cheerfully catered for. Staff throughout are consistently friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms to avoid stairs, but hard flooring can be noisy overhead.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roma74270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that the friendly staff looked after you well.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews