We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
111
78
17
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
78
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queens head the pub sky tv public house separate building modern accommodation the small car park huge shower local population great room secure parking didn't hear a thing major attractions great selection of drinks triple room tea and coffee great accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed at the Queens on Saturday 10th June after seeing Ken Dodd at the Opera house. We arrive early @ 12.30 to check in. The hotel staff were very helpful and dealt with check in very efficiently, they were a very young team of staff. We stayed in Rm 3 which was a family room with a double bed and 2 single beds, the room was clean but with all the beds it was not very spacious we would have much preferred a double room. The bathroom was adequate with a shower over the bath, nice soft towels and toiletries available. After the Opera house we return late back to the hotel which was a very lively rock bar, there was a loud live band on and it was full of happy young revellers having a good dance and drink, we sat at the bar enjoying the liveliness of the venue but being in our 50;s we soon retired to bed!!.The hotel bar is a local pub and very busy on a Saturday night but there is lots of other pubs close to visit if it is to loud. The hotel rooms are separate from the pub and are in a converted annex area at the back. Next door is a take -away which stays open till very late which was handy as we had not eaten, so we gathered some supper and retired to bed. We were very please to find that we could not hear any noise at all from the bar the room was very quiet indeed and we had a very comfortable sleep. We enjoyed our stay and would return because the hotel is in a very good location.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very quiet but you have to climb stairs
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm very pleased that you found the room nice and quie,t and the location convenient for everything you needed. If you want to call us directly next time you visit, we'll ensure you're in a double room.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We stayed overnight at Buxton to see Reginald D Hunter at the Opera House. We booked the Queens Head Hotel and arrived into the carpark to the rear which was neat but worked. We were in room 4 which was on the small side and unfortunately, the bin was full of empty pot noodle cartons from the previous occupants and neither the light nor fan worked in the bathroom. Having said that, we did have a good night sleep. In the morning we went down for breakfast and waited quite a while, as did others. When the breakfast came, we can't say it was the best. Bacon wasn't great and I got a sausage but my partner didn't and tomato was cold...... Can't really recommend this time round

Room Tip: Room 4 wasn't particularly great
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn4Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can only apologise for this error on our part and have spoken to the staff involved so as to avoid it happening again. If we can tempt you back in the future please call directly so I can personally oversee your booking.

Once again may I offer my sincere apologies.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We loved the cleanliness and comfort of our room.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent with attentive service.
Location was central to "downtown" Buxton within easy walking distance of the major attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMJM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. I've passed on your very kind comments to the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This is a "real" pub that is well used by the local population offering a wide range of beers together with a welcoming attitude to visitors and very comfortable modern accommodation. The room I booked was located in a converted building at the rear of the pub with car parking immediately adjacent in a small courtyard. The accommodation was of a good size and very modern with a superb large walk in shower together with two washbasins and toilet. The room was spotlessly clean and had a good adjustable heating system. All facilities were available, tv, wi-fi, tea making etc, It is in a very good location. The breakfast was very good and the service was delivered by very helpful and engaging staff. Excellent value and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm delighted to hear what a success your visit was and that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the triple room as we were attending a gig at The Opera House. On arrival there is a small carpark to the rear, the pub is a traditional one with a welcoming atmosphere, plenty o decent ales to choose from. We were shown to our room in the courtyard and what a lovely surprise- the room was light and airy and very well presented with tasteful furniture. The bathroom was large and well fitted with a really good shower, the towels were large and fluffy. The room consists of 2 single and 1 double bed, the mattress was lovely and I had a great nights sleep. We didn't have breakfast which was served until 0930 in the pub but had we done so, it was cooked to order and smelled delicious. It is within walking distance of the town and all attractions.
This place is fabulous and I will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank hoopschick1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerman75, Owner at The Queen's Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I'm so pleased to hear how fabulous you found the hotel and that the room was very comfortable for you. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ian Howarth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews