We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveller rating
736
543
122
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
543
122
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barmary queen of scotsopera houseoldest hotel in englandsloping floorssteeped in historyparking ticketwinter warmerpre theatre dinnerfour posterlots of historymain restauranthistoric hotelpavilion gardenslovely hoteltraditional hotelexecutive room
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Very impressed with every aspect of this hotel. From the moment we arrived (and got an early check in) we knew we’d picked an ideal place to stay. Hotel has a lovely ambience, deriving from its history, comfort and the friendliness of its efficient staff. Both bedroom and bathroom were larger than expected and tastefully furnished in period style. Beds were comfortable, breakfast delicious, and everything was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hbushe379410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location within town and everything the Old Hall and Buxton has to offer. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The Old Hall captures the essence of Buxton with its deep seated history tied to Queen Mary, close proximity to everything in Buxton. Service is always excellent, staff are friendly polite and welcoming, the rooms are old world beautiful as well as clean and comfortable. Food is always good with a great local selection of produce a good gin shelf and a Derbyshire breakfast that never disappoints.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kdanne482840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location within town and everything the Old Hall and Buxton has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Ideally situated across from Opera House, this historic hotel has much to recommend it. Rooms are spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms also bigger than usual. Beds very comfortable.
Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
We are so pleased that we chose this hotel for our first visit to Buxton. We would be very happen to return.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location within town and everything the Old Hall and Buxton has to offer. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Excellent personalised service for our wedding, all the staff are very pleasant and helpful. A quirky old hotel with large rooms for storage in a great setting. Excellent quality food served to a large party and all hot when served.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 56martha1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your special day with us and we hope to see you return for an anniversary break. All the best for the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Very cozy and comfortable place. I really liked the lounges at the front of the hotel, which were really cozy and nice for the work meetings that I was in town for. The room was clean. The only issue was the the bed was a bit springy for my taste.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank qyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you to the Old Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews