We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
YHA Ravenstor(Buxton)(Great Value!)
USD 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abode(Buxton)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
USD 93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseleigh(Buxton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
9 Green Lane(Buxton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveller rating
719
529
122
46
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
529
122
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barmary queen of scotsopera houseoldest hotel in englandsloping floorssteeped in historyparking ticketwinter warmerpre theatre dinnerfour posterlots of historymain restaurantpavilion gardenshistoric hotellovely hoteltraditional hotelexecutive room
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The Old Hall captures the essence of Buxton with its deep seated history tied to Queen Mary, close proximity to everything in Buxton. Service is always excellent, staff are friendly polite and welcoming, the rooms are old world beautiful as well as clean and comfortable. Food is always good with a great local selection of produce a good gin shelf and a Derbyshire breakfast that never disappoints.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kdanne482840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location within town and everything the Old Hall and Buxton has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Ideally situated across from Opera House, this historic hotel has much to recommend it. Rooms are spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms also bigger than usual. Beds very comfortable.
Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
We are so pleased that we chose this hotel for our first visit to Buxton. We would be very happen to return.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location within town and everything the Old Hall and Buxton has to offer. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Excellent personalised service for our wedding, all the staff are very pleasant and helpful. A quirky old hotel with large rooms for storage in a great setting. Excellent quality food served to a large party and all hot when served.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 56martha1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your special day with us and we hope to see you return for an anniversary break. All the best for the future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Very cozy and comfortable place. I really liked the lounges at the front of the hotel, which were really cozy and nice for the work meetings that I was in town for. The room was clean. The only issue was the the bed was a bit springy for my taste.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank qyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you to the Old Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We booked this hotel under the step into spring offer. The deal was really good and included drinks on arrival, 2 course evening meal and full breakfast the next day. I have to say that we weren't disappointed. The room was very clean and comfortable and the evening meal was truly excellent and the staff were really helpful. We were so impressed that we are definitely going to book again. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say or any improvements that could be made. Superb place to stay!

Room Tip: Great views from the front hotel rooms across the gardens
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally P, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the Spring Offer we are currently running, we hope to welcome you to the Old Hall again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews