We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, cosy and welcoming cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Front
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairelou...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy and welcoming cottage.”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Ty Bychan is a beautiful, cosy little cottage in the fantastic location of Hay-on-Wye. The cottage had everything I needed during my stay and the information booklet was helpful to give me an idea of the local area and amenities.
The cottage was very clean on arrival and Adele has been welcoming and informative throughout my whole stay. I found Ty Bychan very homely as it has a lovely log fire to make evenings cosy and relaxing.
I have really enjoyed my time in the cottage and in Hay. It's the perfect place for a relaxing getaway, due to it's location there is lots to do and explore. I look forward to returning in the future! Thank you for providing such a lovely cottage and fantastic hosting!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming and friendly owner Adele, the location and log burner in the evenings.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul s
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“xmas stay.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay and very central to what we wanted. Just two little gripes, me and my wife as much as we tried could not get the heating control panel to do what we wanted and my wife really struggeled with just one shelve in the cooker to do a Christmas dinner.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for your comments both here and in the visitors book. We are pleased you had a lovely Christmas. Apologies for the oven that although new, was supplied with only one shelf. An oversight by ourselves and we have now ordered another one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous cosy cottage close to the centre of Hay”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We came to Hay for the Winter weekend festival and staying in Ty Bychan was just perfect. It is cosy, comfortable and has everything you need. We were able to pop in to Hay and back whenever we needed, given the location close to all the 'action'. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippiehi...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and cosy”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a very relaxing few days in this lovely cosy cottage. Comfortable and clean . Well equipped. Super little wood burner that we used every day. The bed was really comfortable. All shops just a few minutes stroll away, making it easy to get everything you need. We found it hard to leave this lovely cottage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keyla jan...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We really enjoyed our stay especially sitting by the fire. It was really clean and had everything we needed. We actually got engaged on our first night!!

We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing