We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House, Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AndyMag20...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“OK but lots of room for improvement”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I originally gave this feedback directly to the owner to give chance for a response, however they are clearly not interested as a week later there has been no reply. It only seems right then that I share my feedback with fellow travellers as there are many points to consider when booking this accommodation.

• Firstly, the kitchen was wonderful. Perfectly appointed with plenty of room and the bonus of the conservatory. Although a grill pan and a non stick saucepan would have been nice.
• The living room was really comfy and the log burner looks wonderful. Made us all long for a cold autumn evening…
• The Sonos system, all be it very clever, was no use to us as we all arrived with various MP3 players expecting there to be a docking station or at least somewhere to plug in as we had our own cables.
• Having to go upstairs to change the TV channel was madness. Once the couple in that room had retired for the evening we were unable to control the TV.
• The shower drove us crazy as to get it going is not as easy as just turning it on. There needs to be an instruction to start the shower on the coldest setting as the auto valve stays fully open (hot only) until it warms up. As there is no gravity feed from the hot tank the pump does not come on without much adjustment and a burst of cold water.
• The toilet was not fixed to the floor which in turn caused us all concern at quite the wrong moment. Nor was the seat and lid fixed properly which came off each time.
• One toilet between 6 adults is not practical
• The lack of any hanging space was disappointing. We all wanted to hang our clothes somewhere. Not everything can stay folded.

• The slab outside the conservatory patio door is loose and dangerous.
• The camp fire should better be described as a 10 minute walk from the house. We were all looking forward to the camp fire but the less able in the group were unable to make the journey.
• Walking on the large stones to the camp fire is down right dangerous. One of our party took a tumble on the loose stones and was so badly bruised and battered that they are still in some considerable discomfort 2 weeks on. If the top gate had been open with access available across the trenches by the barn, life would have been so much easier.

• By far the biggest irritation was the wretched cat! You state in the welcome pack that he should not be left in the property as is not house trained. Countless times, he snuck in while we were in the garden, only to be found on the beds, or the kitchen surfaces, or on the sofa, or anywhere he could. It is crazy to have to keep all the doors and windows closed while we are in, just to keep him out. Both on Friday night and twice on Saturday night he kept us awake, howling outside the window. The whole house was again awoken twice when he got in through upstairs windows, knocking everything off the window sill with a right clatter and then paced up and down the landing howling. Bearing in mind this is a stray farm cat, your guests should not be put at risk by whatever dirt or diseases he might be carrying in from the fields, onto the beds and food preparation areas. If the cat is a compulsory part of the accommodation, you should make it known in your advert as not everyone likes cats, especially strays that have not been immunised, neutered or wearing a flea collar. Get rid of the cat!

The location was lovely and the BBQ great. A really comfy place to be with a nice colour scheme, just let down by the holes around the sockets and switches, unfinished skirting and some poor decorating.

The odd niggle is expected with this kind of rental but I would only recommend this accommodation if these issues were addressed because collectively they spoiled the vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loz T
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great weekend stay, the house had everything we needed and more!
Everything was set up and ready to use from the BBQ to the campfire. The campfire is a must, we had a great time sat round it. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPCoetzee
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house in perfect location”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We woke in the morning to the sound of birdsong and the bubbling stream, and opened the curtains to lush green hills and blue skies, with buzzards circling above.

The location is perfect, close to the A470 but far enough away to be able to not hear cars. The owner had thoughtfully provided tea and coffee and some fresh fruit, and even some food for Monty the chunky farm cat.

The house has only recently been lovingly restored to an excellent standard but needs a couple of little tweaks to be perfect (bathroom door doesn't lock easily, bedroom door latches spring open, hot water fiddly) or I would have given 5 stars. Regardless, we have excitedly told friends and will be booking for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrpharms
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We visited in June 2014 and all I can say is what a great place to stay. The location was fantastic with great views. You couldn't ask for much more with the amenities of the property. I have already started recommending the place to family and friends and we will definitely be making a return visit in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whirldytr...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well equipped house in stunning location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for half term with our children (aged 9 & 11) and their cousin (aged 10). The house was amazingly well equipped - all mod cons, plus thoughtful touches like a cupboard full of board games. The kids spent hours playing in the large garden, and were especially pleased with the stream that runs at the bottom. The location is beautiful - very rural Wales - with sheep studded on the steep hills around the house. We would thoroughly recommend this house for families of for a romantic getaway (there is a lovely, cosy wood burner in the living room).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing