We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fishing on the Wye”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pendavie
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishing on the Wye”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Apple house is as good as it looks on the TripAdvisor . Every detail has been thought about and therefore it is a home from home. With a view too boot!
Richard and Caroline are the perfect hosts, giving you helpful advice when needed leaving you to your own devises the rest of the time.
We booked Apple cottage for the opportunity to fish the Wye. My husband was very happy with Richards private stretch. He said it was almost a bit a cast!
I will look forward to coming back but with our grandsons next time. They will love the horses, sheep, kittens and Molly the dog that are around the house as well as the beautiful surrounding countryside. There will be plenty of room for us all with the Shepard huts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it !
Liked least: Nothing it was all great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobz42
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fab escape from life”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We recently stayed with Richard and his lovely family at this wonderful location.
The cottage is spacious and extremely well appointed with a comfortable feel and a great garden that was dog friendly.
We took our 2 Labradors with us and other than the local squirrels pulling their tongue out at our 2 dogs I the morning while we were chilling out, a truely wonderful relaxing time was had by us.
The hosts are very friendly but be careful you don't get Richard into trouble as I may have done a couple of times having a good old chat about life and his future plans for the place. Must admit I was guilty a couple of times and sorry about that Richard.
The kitchen is very well specified and we eat in most nights with so much local food available, it wasn't a problem.
There are 2 horse in the field you can occasionally see from the kitchen and they seem to like carrots. So don't forget to bring a bag for them.
The bed was comfortable but so were the sofas, so there was plenty of space to chill out and we liked the dining area with the extending table so we could make plans for geocaching in the area and still have room to eat.
There are plenty of places for eating out and local supermarket down at Brecon we normally used, but there is an information pack that is provided if looking for inspiration.
For the lounge, there is a good sized tv and we took some films on USB so that simply plugged into the tv and off we go.
I particularly liked the garden and views, but watching the sheep and Billy the goat was also nice and the thought that our 2 dogs weren't going to escape helped. He hammock is a must to try and really regret we didn't get the fire pit fired up.
All in all, an extremely welcoming place and really looking forward to returning.
Go for it, you deserve a treat such as this, with a kitchen welcome pack including Welsh cakes, you will be kicking yourself going elsewhere.
Ps. Please say hi to Molly, a very friend dog how likes the odd biscuit, but don't tell Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dog friendly garden
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Macyrose
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Relaxing stay at Apple House, with great views!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic week at Apple House. We arrived to a warm welcome. The cottage is so spacious and comfortable it is very well equipped with everything you need, comfy beds a lovely enclosed garden with 2 relaxing hammocks a fire pit, bbq, picnic bench & sun loungers. Richard & Caroline are so welcoming and very friendly with lots of advice on walks etc. The adjoining field had sheep and a friendly goat called Billy! The next field (front of the cottage) there were 2 friendly horses. My 2 girls loved playing in the gardens & fields they made friends with Richard & Caroline's 2 children, the dog Mollie & there 2 kittens they had hours of fun and they said it was the best holiday ever!! The views are fantastic & there are plenty of walks/activities within the surrounding area. Hay-on Wye & Brecon are not to far away. We will definitely be back. Thank you Richard & Caroline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden relaxing in the hammocks & the views.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & Restful Cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved our stay in Apple House. It was bright, airy and beautifully furnished to a high standard. It is also fully equipped with everything you would need. The fresh eggs, milk, butter & bread were very welcoming and a lovely touch.
The garden is fully enclosed and safe for young children and pets.
Richard & Caroline were lovely & helpful.

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing