We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy delightful cottage, we loved our stay. Super...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim P
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy delightful cottage, we loved our stay. Super place!”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely stay at Apple House. Richard and Caroline are helpful and friendly. Cottage is immaculate, with beautiful surroundings. Much thought has gone into equipping the cottage and a welcome basket was so thoughtful.
We were with our daughter, son in law and their little baby. We all agreed it had been a relaxing and enjoyable stay and all hope to return again before too long.
Best cottage we have ever stayed in!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect comfort in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Apple House was perfect in every way, comfortable, clean, well-equipped, in beautiful countryside with Richard and Caroline the perfect hosts. Richard was always on hand but never intrusive, always willing to help with good advice and suggestions about the local area including local pubs and walks. We were joined by our two older 'children' (28 and 25) and our dog and we all enjoyed several walks, fishing in the River Wye and the peaceful surroundings. We are planning to return next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bleadon, Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility of the locatiuon an the views from the garden,
Liked least: Not applicable. Everything was fully satisfacotry
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WalesBook...
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautifully appointed cottage in delightful surroundings.”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a restful and relaxing week in the Apple House, where the owners, Richard and Caroline, made us very welcome, and gave us lots of useful advice on local walks, places to eat etc.. The cottage is decorated and equipped to a high standard, and the garden is delightful, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside, as well as being dog proof for our two labradors!
Walks along the Wye Valley Way are easily accessed, and Hay on Wye is only a short drive away.
The friendly village of Llyswen has a local shop,selling newspapers and basic provisions,a garage and two pubs, one of which, the Griffin, serves good pub food.
The Apple House is one of the loveliest cottages we've stayed in, and we would certainly consider returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: We didn't dislike anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddleRip...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect venue from which to explore the Brecons and the Wye Valley.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Apple House for a week in mid August as a party of four adults and two dogs. The property is very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished, well equipped and very handily located about mid way between Hay on Wye and Brecon. The owners - Richard and Caroline - could not have been more welcoming and helpful and, being unfamiliar with the area, we greatly appreciated their advice and recommendations in respect of the impressive array of nearby pubs and restaurants and the superb local produce. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Apple House to friends and family and will hopefully be back ourselves during 2015.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing