We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautifully appointed cottage in delightful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WalesBook...
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautifully appointed cottage in delightful surroundings.”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a restful and relaxing week in the Apple House, where the owners, Richard and Caroline, made us very welcome, and gave us lots of useful advice on local walks, places to eat etc.. The cottage is decorated and equipped to a high standard, and the garden is delightful, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside, as well as being dog proof for our two labradors!
Walks along the Wye Valley Way are easily accessed, and Hay on Wye is only a short drive away.
The friendly village of Llyswen has a local shop,selling newspapers and basic provisions,a garage and two pubs, one of which, the Griffin, serves good pub food.
The Apple House is one of the loveliest cottages we've stayed in, and we would certainly consider returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation
Liked least: We didn't dislike anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiddleRip...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect venue from which to explore the Brecons and the Wye Valley.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Apple House for a week in mid August as a party of four adults and two dogs. The property is very comfortable, tastefully decorated and furnished, well equipped and very handily located about mid way between Hay on Wye and Brecon. The owners - Richard and Caroline - could not have been more welcoming and helpful and, being unfamiliar with the area, we greatly appreciated their advice and recommendations in respect of the impressive array of nearby pubs and restaurants and the superb local produce. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Apple House to friends and family and will hopefully be back ourselves during 2015.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssharriss
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Richard was the perfect host, supported by Molly the dog! Cottage is very well equipped with lovely homely touches and child friendly. Stair gate, bath toys, high chair and plenty of child friendly space inside and out. All of which helped encourage our daughter to take her first steps, making our week in Wales even more memorable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missemmag...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heavenly home from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights with our 2 dogs. The cottage is easy to find and sits neatly behind the owners house. The garden is huge with hammocks, fire pit and bench. Overlooking fields with grazing sheep. The house is equipped with everything you need including a lovely wood burning fire. Garden fully enclosed and their lovely dog Molly comes to greet you! Overall a fantastic stay with many long walks and national parks around. Was sad to leave but shall return again. Thank you Richard and Caroline for having us. X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing