We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by. Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the wonderful views of the Black Mountains.
A gorgeous barn positioned perfectly for a holiday in the country, lots of lovely walks near by.
Lovely wooden terrace with a glass roof to sit under, property has its own garden area.
2 acres of well tendered garden to enjoy.
Property is nice and safe for children and animals, it is positioned well off the main road.
Ample parking by the property.
Spacious dining room with seating area, leading to down stairs bathroom room.
Lovely Shabby Chic style double bedroom with en-suite, enjoys a lovely view of the mountains.
Ensuit bathroom complementary soap, hand wash and hand cream in both bathrooms.
Lovely Shabby Chic adjoining twin bedroom with lots of luxorious finishing touches.
Down stairs bathroom/shower,(ample towels provided).
Large lounge area with log burner, plasma TV, DVD & CD player, board games, books  & small t
Very well equiped kitchen with complementary tea, coffee, sugar and milk.
The Little Twmp Barn is on a small hill with beautiful panaramic views of the Black Mountains
Wooden and glass covered  terrace on both sides of the property, very colonial.
All year round alfresco dining under the terrace, very sheltered, (bbq provided).
Lots of seating areas under the terrace, to sit and relax so you can take in the breathtaking views
Hot tub is very well located on the terrace which looks onto guests own private garden.
Alfie our friendly dog, he is great with kids.
Very mature and well maintained gardens.
We're all in bloom, we have very pretty gardens for guests to enjoy
Come and see the neighburing horses.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DONNA S
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a brilliant week at Little Twmp Barn and came home thoroughly relaxed and rested.
The owner Martin went out of his way to be helpful and was very tolerant of our dog who used to call for Alfie a number of times each day!!
The views are spectacular and the hot tub was a welcome treat at the end of each day.
There was nothing not to like.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmaBod
Staffordshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family break - we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful comfortable barn with gorgeous views and such friendly owners, we already know we'll be returning! Having stayed in such "soulless" holiday lets before, this place is decorated and furnished so beautifully and is so very cosy, especially when the wood burner is lit. Our 7 year old twins loved the hot tub and playing with Alfie the dog! The kitchen is very well equipped and has everything you need. Our first time in the Brecons and it was wonderful, had lots of fun at Cantref Adventure Farm, the National Welsh Showcaves and walking up Pen-y-Fan was amazing. Thank you Colleen & Martin for a really happy holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and cosy the property was - the kids would say the hot tub!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jazz D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Christmas in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My family and I spent Christmas in this beautiful little house and we had the best time. The hosts were so kind and attentive and the plot is just gorgeous. We would definitely stay again! Thank you for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne L
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, wonderful cottage ”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed 3 nights & had a wonderful time. The barn is beautifully decorated, clean & has plenty of amenities. There were lovely extra touches like cupboards full of books& board games which I found really nice.
Martin was there (owner) when we arrived & made sure we got settled in but otherwise we were left to our own devices and knew where to go if we needed anything.
The hot tub was fantastic. It was lovely at night when outside was freezing but the water was hot.
Also we were able to take our dog - who loved the open space outside.
We popped into Hay on Wye which was okay - not really our thing but can see why others like it so much.
Overall we had a brilliant time, really relaxing & will no doubt be booking again next year.
In the run up to the trip Colleen & Martin were great with communicating with me & were very fast at responding to the couple of emails I sent.
Fantastic location, accommodation & service 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Academicr...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in fabulous location”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Really well-appointed barn conversion with great views and wonderfully located for walking. Very comfortable sitting room and great stove. Everything done to make guests feel as welcome as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from the jacuzzi
Liked least: access to second bedroom through first
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing