We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Apartment in a Great Location”
other traveller has booked this property
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two. Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The luxurious living area with large television and leather sofas.
Top floor bedroom with comfortable leather chairs for two.
Top floor bedroom and en suite with double shower.
View of Market Street apartments from below.
Well equiped modern kitchen with washer/dryer, dish washer and gas hobs.
King size bed with Egyptian white cotton linen.
Smooth granite dining table with ornamental bowl.
Modern, well equipped kitchen
Modern bathroom with bath tub and walk-in shower.
Open living style with high quality furnishings
External view - Butter Market on first floor, Rooftops on second floor.
Views across quaint Hay-on-Wye
Medieval butter market located below the apartments
Views across Hay to the countryside beyond
Fabulous bookshops for browsing and exploring
Hay-on-Wye streets with view to historic clocktower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EClark81
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment in a Great Location”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Buttermarket is a lovely apartment furnished to a high standard and fully equipped with everything you could need for a holiday. Its in a great location next to the market in the centre of Hay-on-Wye.
Everything we hoped for! We will definitely be returning!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBEyes
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good...... it should be kept top secret”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A place of loveliness, a home from home

Even the booking experience was professional with an added personal touch. Before we arrived I received an email giving me details for suggested walks, from a gentle stroll to a full day of hiking. Callum couldn’t have been more helpful in providing local information.

The location was perfect, quiet, but right in the heart of Hay on Wye.

On arrival, there was a homemade cake, bread, fresh eggs and milk and marmalade in the fridge, so we had refreshments after the long drive and something for breakfast the next morning
The apartment itself is luxurious and comfortable, the attention to detail and quality finishes offer you all you could need and more. Perfect for a romantic stay, group or family, the two large bedrooms have huge comfortable beds and crisp linen. The loft bedroom has a real wow factor and the walk in shower is enormous!

The kitchen is extremely well equipped with high end cutlery, crockery and utensils. Wi-Fi is high speed and the living room spacious, you can comfortably get 4-6 people seated on the sofas, or snuggle up as a couple under the throws

I cannot rate my stay highly enough, I also cannot fault it…I didn’t want to leave

If you are looking for accommodation in Hay on Wye, look no further, you’ve found it, but shhhhhh don’t tell everyone or they’ll all want to stay and your secret haven will always be booked up

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolynpe...
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“We would definitely stay here again.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Hay-on-Wye is a charming, busy little town that is totally unspoiled and the people everywhere were warm and friendly. We loved the bustle, and the only reason I rated this "Very Good" rather than "Excellent" had nothing to do with the accommodation, which was clean and comfortable. Rather, since Hay is an ancient market town it can be noisy in the early mornings if you have the bedroom windows open––we felt this added to the charm; others might not. The only other drawback is parking (the town wasn't planned with cars in mind, after all). One of us had to get up each morning to feed the parking ticket machine before 8:00 a.m. (good for the next 24 hours). Personally, I loved walking back through Hay as the town got ready for the day and buying still-warm bread from Londis!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt-Supa...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful retreat in the heart of Hay on Wye”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Truly stunning apartment with everything you could possibly need for a wonderful retreat to beautiful Hay on Wye! Every single detail within the apartment from the artwork to the fittings is finished to a beautiful quality providing a space that was luxurious with the comfort of a home away from home. When we arrived there was a really thoughtful welcome package including freshly ground coffee, tea bags, milk, eggs, fresh bread, marmalade and even a fruitcake. Exactly what we needed given we had forgotten to go shopping before we arrived!



The check in process was really straight forward as Callum sent us detailed joining instructions including access codes to enter the flat without the hassle of having to arrange to meet our hosts at their convenience. From that point on, everything we could possible need was there and ready to use within the apartment.



We were particularly impressed with was the equipment available within the kitchen. We are both keen cooks but generally despise cooking away from home as you can never find what you need! At Market Street there was a comprehensive range of pots, pans, utensils etc, all brand new and totally spotless. There’s even a brand new dishwasher to put them in afterwards! We also really enjoyed the large flat screen TV with free sat, a dvd player, a TV recorder and an ipod dock. Perfect for relaxing with our feet up after a long day of hiking in the gorgeous Welsh mountains. The bed was also terrific when we came to crash out after being out all day, easily the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in (including our own bed at home unfortunately!) If you’re looking for 5* quality with great value for money then we can’t recommend this place enough. Most definitely the nicest place we have ever stayed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPD802
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely immaculate”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in the ButterMarket for four nights. The apartment was immaculately clean, well laid out and wonderfully comfortable. My only problem was the noisy delivery to the bakery opposite at 6am every morning. This was directly outside our bedroom window and became a real annoyance. It was a shame, as sitting in the window during the day watching Hay-on-Wye going about its business was a pleasure. Not sure if it was an acceptable downside to the wonderful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious apartment
Liked least: Lots of noise at 6am every morning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
We were very sorry our guests stay with us was diminished by this. And we also appreciate their five star rating in recognition of the quality of the apartment. We've given a lot of time to ensuring that Butter Market is a beautiful place to stay and makes the most of its location in Hay. The bakery opposite does start work early, but we had not realised that this was a problem for our guests as only one other person has mentioned it and that was during the very busy Hay Festival week. We have spoken with the bakery and they are making efforts to make less noise during the early morning deliveries. We have a second apartment above Butter Market, and this has double-glazed windows in the top bedroom and we feel this is probably the solution. Our builder has scheduled to do as soon as possible and hopefully our guests can enjoy the apartments without any early disturbance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing