We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“live like gentry here”
other traveller has booked this property
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Rathellen House, Tipperary, IRELAND
Rathellen House Front Hall.JPG
Rathellen House Front hall and dining room.JPG
Entrance Hall
Entrance Hall
Rathellan House drawing room (Small)
Drawing room
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
A Civil Wedding Ceremony at Rathellen House - the final preparations!
Rathellen House: Drawing room with fire place
Library
Library
Dining Room
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Rathellen House Dining Room.JPG
Dining Room
Dining room
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Master Bedroom with 6 foot Four Poster Bed
Rathellen House Bedroom 2 JPG
Bedroom 2.
The Entrance Hall mantle piece decorated for Halloween
Bedroom 2. 6 foot double bed or twin option.
Rathellen House Bedroom 3.JPG
Bedroom 5. Double Bedroom with Large Shower Ensuite
Bedroom 4. Double Bedroom with Antique French Bed and Large Shower ensuite
Rathellen House Kitchen JPG
Rathellen House Kitchen.JPG
Kitchen shelves
Kitchen pots
Kitchen pots and pans
Front door in the snow .JPG
Getting married at Rathellen House - the bride and groom in the Entrance Hall
Rathellen House
Rathellen House in the snowJPG
Front Door
Herb Garden at Rathellen House
Front Door
Ready for a walk?
Rathellen House Trifle!
Rathellen House Buffet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tipperary, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eoghan B
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“live like gentry here”
Reviewed 19 April 2009 for a stay in April 2009

Live like gentry in this fabulous retreat away from the hustle and bustle of modern life.

We stayed at Rathellen House for two nights B&B and one dinner whilst on a hill walking trip in the nearby Galty Mountains. The house is magnificent and although just a couple of years old, gives the impression of a dwelling built for gentry in a foregone age. Stella and Eamonn gave us a very friendly wecome with tea, coffee and home made biscuits upon arrival.

The room was comfortable with a great bathroom and lovely furniture. However Rathellen's 'piece de resistance' is their food. For breakfast we chose the really fresh fruit and yogurt, and beautifully cooked scrambled eggs and bacon (we could have had cereals and the 'Full Irish' too).

After a hard day's walking, our welcome dinner consisted of a lovely potato and leek soup starter which was really light and a gorgeous trio of fish for main course followed by rhubarb crumble. It was magnificent. Afterwards we retired to the huge log fire in the drawing room.

Rathellen House is on the edge of the Glen of Aherlow and 15 minutes from Clydagh Bridge, a popular starting point for the Slievecushnabinnia 786m / Galtymore 919m / Galtybeg 799m / Cush 630m horseshoe walk. It is also ideally suited for less challenging walks on Slievemuck Ridge.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viperhone...
Pordenone, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2008 for a stay in July 2008
1
person found this review helpful

This is truly one of the nicest and most amazing places I have ever had the pleasure of staying. Everything about this house was exquisite, from the way it was decorated, to the amenities of the room, down to the piping hot scones that Eamonn brought us fresh from the oven at breakfast. He and Shelly couldn't have been nicer, more gracious hosts. My husband and I hated to leave and hope to come back for a longer stay on another visit to Ireland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“the amazing kindness of our hosts”
Reviewed 18 June 2008 for a stay in June 2008
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I arrived at Rathellen last week for a one night stopover, and were greeted by the very warm and kind Eamonn. My husband was pretty unwell with a heavy cold and cough. and although I had previously booked the master suite I aksed if it were possible to change our bookings. to two separate rooms as otherwise neither of us was going to get any sleep due to his constant coughing. Eamonn could not have been more generous to us. Not only did he quickly arrange the change to the accommodation but went way beyond expectations. BOth our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Mine was a pretty room with corner windows with lovely rural views. My husbands was slightly smaller but had everything needed for a much needed good night's sleep.

Some delicious warm scones with cream and strawberries and a cup of tea was first on the agenda at which point my husband had to head for bed. It was clear that he was too unwell to drive anywhere for dinner and anyway did not feel like eating and even though we had made no prior arrangement for diner ,Eamonn offered to cook me up a meal. We both settled on some warm toast and tea and an early night. Although we were not able to take full advantage of the wonderful, stately manor house it was nonetheless a beautiful home with plentiful reading material, comfy beds and a feeling of serenity which was greatly appreciated. In the morning Eamonn booked us a room at a hotel near the airport which he recommended to save us any hassel.

We would love to return one day so that we could fully appreciate all that the gorgeous Rathellen House has to offer but we will long remember the kindness shown to us during our very brief stay. Thank you both and thank you too to your young son who was very helpful with directions to Cashel and advice when we arrived earlier in the day....
..already he had learned the skills of a welcoming host and is a credit to you both .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The kindness shown in this elegant manor house
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn13
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rathellen House is Absolutely Lovely!”
Reviewed 6 May 2008 for a stay in April 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Several weeks ago we stayed at a fairly new and truly lovely upscale B&B in Bansha, Ireland, that we’d like to bring to your readers' attention. Rathellen House (http://www.rathellenhouse.com) is a beautiful country house with very comfortable and attractively furnished rooms. The room we stayed in was huge (four poster bed, many antique furnishings), as was the bathroom that even featured heated floors and towel racks.
There are many cozy places in the house where you can visit, read, or just relax—the living room, library, various nooks and crannies, etc.,
A fire was going the whole time we were there. The entire place was spotless and had all the conveniences you could think of.
Delicious meals, both breakfasts and dinners, were prepared by Eamonn and Stella Long and were hearty and beautifully served. Eamonn trained at a prestigious Irish cooking school and his culinary skills and choice of menus are just excellent.
The Longs were so hospitable and friendly, we felt like a part of the family. They are very knowledgeable about the area and pointed us on several day trips and local hikes and had plenty of maps, guidebooks, and tourist information available.
Rathellen House is located a bit off the beaten track (keeping it quiet and peaceful and boasting great views)—but it’s only a short hop to Limerick, Kilkenny, Tipperary, etc.
It was a wonderful and relaxing stay and we highly recommend it to other travelers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Beautiful country house, comfortable accommodations, excellent food, great hospitality, tranquil setting.
Liked least: nothing
Visit was for: Other
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EddieDDub...
Dublin Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
Reviewed 11 December 2007 for a stay in December 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights in this wonderful house.We were attending a wedding locally and only came across Rathellen by chance. How lucky we were,as we were the first people to book for that weekend we were reserved into bedroom number 1. It was number one in every way , fine big room beautifully and tastefully appointed, four poster bed and said bed is the most comfortable we've experienced anywhere, and this last point was made by all the guests about their respective accommodation. The first night we had dinner here, prepared by ou host Eamonn and served by our hostess Stella , it was absolutely first class. Throughout our stay nothing appeared to be too much trouble, should people be anywhere even remotely in the vicinity of Bansha,make haste to Rathellen House, you will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Absolute comfort allied to magnificent hospitality
Liked least: Faultless
Visit was for: Personal event (wedding, ...)
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing