We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing place I've ever stayed in!”
other traveller has booked this property
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The Gatehouse from Inside the Courtyard
13 Century Window
The Double Bed: Property only takes 2 people
Wood Burning Stove
Bring luggage in small suitcases, it will need to go up these stairs!
The Kitchen, with hob, oven, fridge and small freezer
The Lounge area, comfortable leather sofa in front of the fire
Your View of the Gatehouse as you arrive: if you arrive in snow that is!
View from the front door...you go up the companionway ladder to sleep!
More views of the lounge area
Stone Mullion Window
Another view of the bed area
The Door to go downstairs
The view from the kitchen
The floorplan
From the Front of the Gatehouse
Courtyard House seen from the Top of the Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chepstow, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Janey002
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most amazing place I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I can not recommend the Welsh Gatehouse highly enough... The best part for us was the use of the beautiful garden; we vetoed going out for dinner and instead spent the evening having a BBQ drinking wine and listening to music. The owners made us feel so welcome and everything right from the initial booking in to check out was smooth and well organised. Thank you for having us, we'll definitely be back! Geoff and Jane x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie77
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you check my other reviews, you will see I am blessed with a partner who finds unforgettable and comfortable places to stay when we travel. Even by those high standards, the Gatehouse was a stand out. For a couple, it's perfect.
The bedsit-sized apartment is well-laid out, with a simple kitchen and bathroom, a lovely loft bedroom, and plenty of windows of varying sizes to let in light. It's really pretty inside, due in large part to the windows and well-chosen curtains.
Outside, the building is spectacular. You can climb up to the roof, and get a sense of the overall layout. The gatehouse overlooks a lovely garden and the main building, where your hosts are resident.
The combined washer/dryer worked fine, and the location ensured the noise wasn't an issue. The kitchen was fine - there is an oven, and there's a restriction on frying, so meal planning is the reverse of usual apartment rentals.
Location is suburb - we used Mathern as a base to explore both the Wye valley, and Bath/Glastonbury/Wells area. There's a local pub, a lovely church with a long history and you are close enough to Chepstow for takeaway, but the place itself is very quiet.
We're not chatty types, and we didn't see our hosts at all while we were there. There was plenty of written information, however, not only a fascinating and very lengthy history of the manor, but also local tips on eating etc. We felt welcome, but not intruded upon, and that's all good.
The wifi was slow - better for web browsing than backing up photo files - but it was free and working.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property itself is unique
Liked least: Wifi was spotty and slow, but this is minor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
467Jules
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique experience in a romantic and historic setting.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Good self catering accommodation. Hosts had provided a welcome pack which was a nice touch. Well stocked kitchen equipment including a BBQ. Able to use a very pretty and private garden which was very welcome after a days sight seeing. Close to Chepstow for shops and castle. Lots of other sights and good walks nearby.
Must be able bodied to use this accommodation as there is a steep stone spiral staircase. This added to the glamour but could be difficult for some.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion and quiet
Liked least: Coming down the staircase with wine glass in hand!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelly-p4...
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Fabulous and unusual holiday rental. Well fitted out, really appreciated the lovely welcome pack, bed comfy, nice walks straight from the door, views from the tower amazing - would love to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meaghannf
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic Welsh getaway”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an *amazing* time at the Gatehouse. The photos just don't do it justice. Everything is so beautiful done, from the generous welcome basket to the view from the top of the tower. We loved every aspect of our stay and Juliet was easily reachable by phone for any questions we had. We can't wait to return to the Gatehouse!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing